1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

idle/sensor issue and comments help

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by joeym102010, Jan 23, 2012.

  1. joeym102010

    joeym102010 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    i bought a 94 civic and was told the (tps) was gone the car would start but surge untill warmed up then be fine untill you try to give it gas...it would not move rpms till 2800 so i put new (pcv valve) and (tps) i think i might of messed some thing up or there is just another sensor gone now the car idle's but will only go about half throttle befor then acting like it's on the rev limiter......keep in mind i could drive this before and now with about 3500 max it's not drivable please help
     
  2. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    TPS sensor not in right, or the MAP / TPS plugs are backwards.... Bad dizzy... alot of things could be wrong lol
     
  3. joeym102010

    joeym102010 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    hey thanks for the help i got a new iac vavle and gonna look at the plug on the tps ill let ya know
     
  4. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    yea sometimes the MAP and TPS can get mixxed up... same plug different lengths... was just an idea.. had a prelude once that they were back wards... i was like wtf
     
  5. joeym102010

    joeym102010 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    hey thank you so mch your info was a big help....i grounded out the tps and it worked fine got full RPM's back. But now im back to the surging idle. it has new tps and i changed the iac valve i think it's a vacumm issue cause the body is a 94 lx that had the V-TecE in it and they put a 92 dx back in it witch is the D15b7 and the reason i say this is every pic i see the purge control solenoid valve is back by the brake master cyl. on back of valve cover on all models and mine is over under my intake???but i need vacumm diagram's for 94 lx vtec-e and 92 dx D15b7 to see what lines are diff. if any??? but thank you again for the help
     
  6. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    You may want to see if you have a fast idle thermo valve (FITV). All of the OBD1 Honda motors I've owned had one. They control idle at cold motor temps. IACV Deals with idle at warm "running temps"

    I've had evap purge lines open before and it did not cause a vacuum idle mess up.
     
  7. porkfried83

    porkfried83 New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    ME
    I have a D16Z6 and the fast idle valve got stuck. When it was idle after it had warmed up, the rpm's would go up and down. So I would check the (FITV). Mine still sticks a lil but I'm to lazy right now to do anything about it.
     
  8. joeym102010

    joeym102010 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    you guys have been a big help i'v gone over them all my last ? i know the v-tecs have a map sensor on the throttlebody and the dx with non v-tec has a map bypass will either one work on the dx cause i see they have put a new throttle body on it and my ecu keeps telling me its the map sensor
     
  9. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Not sure about your question but... I would check the numbers on the MAP and check to see if it's the right one. Maybe a local Honda part dept will help or check online.

    It sounds like a limp mode. Engine light on? If so, Check the codes
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page