1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ignition timing w/ no timing belt cover...?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by bakerderek0, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. bakerderek0

    bakerderek0 Up a Creek...

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Flowery Branch, GA
    I have a b16a block w/ a b16a2 head. I think my ignition timing is off...but, I don't have a timing belt cover...Are there any other refrence points to hit with my timing light? Has anyone else ran into this or know a way to get around this issue?

    I also have some noisy ass LMA's that make it hard to hear what's going on inside my valve train.

    When I turn my distributor, all I can hear is a change in rpm...what am I listening for?
     
  2. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    check you points on the cams at tdc. if they are off just take the belt off with the crank at tdc (cylinder1) and move the cam until the arrows both point up. The one will be off by 1/2 to get the belt on but one its on they align themselves
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2009
  3. bakerderek0

    bakerderek0 Up a Creek...

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Flowery Branch, GA
    Yea, neither cover is on here.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but the process you explained would be for cam timing, not ignition timing. correct? Or am I wrong to think cam timing and ignition timing are different?
     
  4. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    you are correct. But if you see the exhaust cam is off than i would assume you ignistion will off too.

    your right thoough.

    the only thing i can think of is to manually adjust the dizzy until the desired rpms is set (700- 600 ish)

    I dont think anything will beat the timing light.
     
  5. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    As far as I know you need the cover.. You can get it close by setting the number one piston to tdc, then aligning the marks on the pulleys with the head itself, but you're out of luck For fine tuning without a cover. Hit eBay for a lower cover at the very least..
     
  6. bakerderek0

    bakerderek0 Up a Creek...

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Flowery Branch, GA
    ahhh.. to ebay it is! I wonder how much of a pain this is gonna be. To the helms!
     
  7. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    you could just take it to a shop to set the timing. Or just go buy one at autozone.


    now that i think of it. You can prolly rent one there too. Put some money down, take it outside, set the timing and bring it right back and get your money.;)
     
  8. bakerderek0

    bakerderek0 Up a Creek...

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Flowery Branch, GA
    I have the timing light, just no white or red lines to match up the pulley to
     
  9. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Can't time it without a reference mark!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page