1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing RAM

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by Dustin_m, Dec 14, 2004.

  1. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Well i have a 256 MB SDRAM from my old computer tht i lost the HD on. I want to put it in this new HP that is my GF's. Its a stupid question, but what is the correct way to put it in? should i just put it in while its off, then turn it on and it will read it?
     
  2. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    it will only fit one way, there is an offset notch in the memory stick
     
  3. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    yeah i know that. but will the comp automatically read it when i turn it back on? how will i know if it is working. the reason i am having the propblem is because before she bought this HP, she had a Gateway and when i put the RAM in it, it wouldn't boot Windows.
     
  4. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    don't do it. Hp can not be oped without voiding a warrenty
     
  5. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    yeah that was another worry.
     
  6. 90 accord

    90 accord Chicks dig the box Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    good chance to fry your mobo if you dont know what your doing. static electricity > your computer
     
  7. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    yeah i know about static electricity. I would be pissed if tht shit happened.
     
  8. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    Its so easy to do. Turn the computer off, unplug everything. Touch the frame of the computer (not the motherboard) and then touch something that is grounded (light switch plate) Next, just throw it in the right slot. Make sure it is in all the way. Next, turn everything back on. Go to Start, and rightclick on my computer and click proporties. It should now say just slightly lower then the total amount of ram on the computer.

    Just make sure that the ram that your putting in there is the proper type.
     
  9. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    i raided an old computer for its ram, 256>64. Then I gave my sister 192. It's real easy it just pops in.
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    leave the power cord plugged into the wall. the outlet makes a good ground. there is no need to unplug anything, so long as its not in your way to get to the case.

    be sure its the right kind of ram though. there's at least 10 different kinds made in the past 3 years alone. bus speed, sd, ddr, 168, 181 pin, and so forth.

    other than that, theres nothign to do.

    plug it in, boot it up. done.
     
  11. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    realistically do HP's go to shit often? Cuz i really wanna put this in, but if something gets f'ed up later and the warranty is voided, im gonna be in deep shit. B, you said they suck, so you might know.
     
  12. EXtremeAccord

    EXtremeAccord Senior Member

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Mo-therfucking-desto, CA
    Your best bet is to carefully remove the "Don't remove this bitches" sticker and if anything goes to shit, slap that puppy back in the right spot, take out anything you put in after buying it, and take it back to get it fixed fo free.

    1. Remove (carefully) warranty sticker.
    2. Have fun, put whatever you want in that HP.
    3. Replace sticker in same spot.
    4. Done.

    If something goes wrong:
    a. Carefully remove warranty sticker.
    b. Take out aftermarket parts.
    c. Replace panel and sticker in orderly manner.
    d. Get yo shit fixed free.
     
  13. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i don't think a ram upgrade will effect your warranty, so long as it is the same brand/type as OEM
     
  14. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota


    but on certain store bought comps , or gateway/dell they have them warranty seals , and unless you have things installed by "certified people" your warranty goes down the crapper
     
  15. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    yeah im gona try it. hey you think a razor blade might make the sticker removal easier?
     
  16. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Shit i just looked and this POS doesnt even have a sticker. is there any other way they could tell it was opened?
     
  17. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    if there is no sticker, i don't think theres a way for them to know.

    Plus the stickers don't just come off like that. They destroy themselves while taking it off. You can't do it carefully either.
     
  18. crazkene13

    crazkene13 Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    I would go for it and quit worrying. I open mine all the time to blow out the dust,
    besides a hard drive is under $100
    a power supply is like $35
    etc..
    what do you need a warranty for with parts so cheap?

    I know anyone on here that can swap an engine can install computer parts.
    Just make sure it fits pin-wise and snap it down even.
    good luck :)
     
  19. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC


    :werd: ...ive already tried it.

    btw, hp sucks ass. the only thing left from the original hp package i bought is the monitor(messed up; under 1024x768 is too dark), mouse(starting to skip frames now), and in the actual pc only the case, sound card, and cd rom drive remains(opens and closes sponatneously...at first i thought it was haunted :lol: ).
     
  20. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    fuck it, i tried. the RAM i had was SD ram and the comp uses DDR
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page