1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

intake secondarys

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by overclocking, Apr 15, 2005.

  1. overclocking

    overclocking Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    how can i tell if the intake secondaries are opening on time? my car has no topend and vtec isnt noticeable just the sound. it has good bottomend tho. also my vtec kicks in at 6k. what the heck

    gsr motor
    p30
     
  2. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    dude how many fucking posts did you make about this?

    the intake secondaries result in a fairly audible change in the sound of the motor, in fact, the butterflies should make a more noticeable sound change than vtec on a stock motor
     
  3. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    wait a min correct me if i am wrong i noticed he is running a gsr motor with a p30 the p30 doesn't have that option for the second butterfly to open am i wrong?
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Just a guess that they are not opening because you ecu doesn't have provisions for them, maybe.
     
  5. b16efhatch

    b16efhatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    I dont think vtec is meant to be a sudden change like boost, besides the sound. Mine doesnt pull really hard once vtec kicks in.
     
  6. overclocking

    overclocking Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005


    The harness i have has a plug for them and the pinout on the ecu is filled so i assume it would work fine.Other than the fuel mapping the ecus arent much different,Besides its temporary. the vtec used to kick in hard when i used an msd activater @ 4300 but i am unrigging the car from the previous owner and finaly after running a knock sensor wire and hooking the vtec back up the cel light is off.However it doesnt have as much balls as it had before seems like it bottoms out at 6-6400rpms.And if the butterfly valve wasnt working wouldnt it stay open not closed??
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Plain and simple, if you're using a P30 you are not activating the IABs, period.
     
  8. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    thank you that is what i was talking about the p30 doesn't have it in its programming!
     
  9. overclocking

    overclocking Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005



    guess its time for a skunk2 intake :D
     
  10. overclocking

    overclocking Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    ok one more question. does the ecu ground the iab solonoid or give it power?? does the iab diafram have vacume at high rpms or low??

    thanks again.
     
  11. overclocking

    overclocking Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page