1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JDM D15b into 1990 DX

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by 91hatch757, Jul 13, 2005.

  1. 91hatch757

    91hatch757 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    I will be swapping the JDM D15b into my 1990 DX Civic Hatch. Which damn ECU do I use? I already have the distributor out of a 1991 si! Please someone clear this up! I heard that tyhe P08 which is the ECU that came with the engine is OBD1. The distributor I have is OBD0. Is there a way to use those two? I would hate to have to buy another distributor. The main reason why is that P08 are pretty cheap compared to the rest. Also the P08 has vtec already? Or will I need something else to kick in the VTEC? I know its a lot of questions but hopefully someone can just run through them really quick!
     
  2. Nopspawn

    Nopspawn Senior Member

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Location:
    So Cal
    From what I know, the D15b has a differene kind of vtec, I think like a 3 stage vtec. If you want to take full advantage of it, you should get the ecu that comes with the motor. Just a heads up.
     
  3. Chauncey_333

    Chauncey_333 Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Knox, Tn



    a D-series with 3 stage vtec? I don't think so, the k22 has three stage vtec.
     
  4. 91hatch757

    91hatch757 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005

    Actually certain years of the JDM D15b came with 3 stage VTEC!
     
  5. 91hatch757

    91hatch757 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Anyone else? Quite a few questions left!
     
  6. vtecjdm

    vtecjdm Senior Member

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Indeed there are 2 versions of the jdm D15B VTEC.

    The most common come with 1 solenoid and are the usual type.
    Then there are the 3 stage, which have 2 solenoid valves.

    I`think` you can use any obd1 ecu with the most common version like a p08 (not sure about vtec on that one) .. or even a usdm p28.

    Regarding obd0 dizzy .. i have no idea how to connect that one. Why on earth did u get an obd0 dizzy and didnt use the one connected to the engine ? Wasn`t there ?
     
  7. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX


    Check out the two solenoids:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. vtecjdm

    vtecjdm Senior Member

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    hehe there you go :D
     
  9. 91hatch757

    91hatch757 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Any way to convert to 3 stage VTEC? Or is it completely different and not worth the time?
     
  10. Punisher

    Punisher Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    You won't be able to use your obd0 distributor if you are using a obd1+ ecu.

    For the normal vtec jdm d15b, you can use the d16z6 dizzy. For the 3-stage d15b, you can use the civic 1.6l non-vtec dizzy, housing part number td-80u, all assuming you are using an obd1+ ecu.
     
  11. 91hatch757

    91hatch757 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Which is better? The P28 or P08?
     
  12. civic92jak

    civic92jak Senior Member

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    well, the P28 doesn't have the aggressive maps that the P08 has, but works on the single stage vtec D15B as i was running the same setup in my EG8. But i doubt there is any other ecu out there that would control the three stage besides the one that is originally mean't for it. You might beable to chip an ecu to do so, but i'm not real familiar with that. And you can't use your obd0 dizzy if your gonna use the OBD1 ecu.
     
  13. 91hatch757

    91hatch757 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005

    I got rid of the OBD0 dizzy and I have a OBD1 dizzy! P08 are cheaper and yet people insist on using the P28! I also heard you will lose performance usinmg the P28! This is so confusing!
     
  14. 98civic4door

    98civic4door Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005


    Not true I have a OBD1 JDM D15B running off a p28 and it does fine, I also have another 5 speed p28 forsale if anyone needs it
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page