1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jdm Engine Swap-revisited

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by icedog75, Jun 18, 2003.

  1. icedog75

    icedog75 Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    From those of you who responded, tks for the input. Here's where we ended up:

    Clutch: Way bad. Mostly my fault, I thought about looking at it but allowed myself to be talked out of it-lesson learned.

    Timing: Way-way bad. The shop (HondaTech in Ft. Lauderdale) was surprised the engine would run at all. Looks like there was a problem with the static timing (perhaps introduced when the belt was changed-that had to be redone as well) which carried over to ignition timing. Now corrected.

    Header/Catalytic converter: Shop has temporarily rigged O2 sensor-We'll replace HP racing header with something more appropriate (maybe a Hedman Chikara plus Catco Cat) in the near future. In the meantime we're OK to run.

    ABS Light: Here's an interesting note for anyone contemplating a JDM swap. The JDM cars are not fitted with ABS. The ABS system apparently takes the rotation signal from the half shafts and not the rotors as on American cars. Since the half shafts were stolen with the original engine we had to use the JDM half shafts so now the ABS light is on. Not a problem for brake operation-we just don't have ABS until we locate some US half shafts.

    Car now runs great. No problems (knock on wood). Now I just have a garage full of other parts to install (suspension, lighting, Kaminari body kit, etc.). Looks like this forum will be great resource.
     
  2. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane

    Weird. This didn't happen with me. Used the JDM halfshaft with no problems.
     
  3. icedog75

    icedog75 Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Interesting...I'm going on the feedback from the shop...haven't done my own research yet. I guess it's time to pull a wheel and dig into the shop manual.
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Yes, actually they did have ABS, on the upper models such as the SiR's, the signal comes from the brakes not the halfshaft.
     
  5. icedog75

    icedog75 Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    You're both absolutely right (that's why I like forums like this-lots of experience/knowledge available for the asking). I won't confirm until tonight, but, I suspect the pulsers are "missing" from the half-shafts. No pulser-no signal.

    Tks again.
     
  6. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    hey, you live in south florida????



    Milan
     
  7. icedog75

    icedog75 Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page