1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JDm P72

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Slammed90Lude, Feb 1, 2004.

  1. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    i'm thinking about buying what's advertised as P72 JDM ecu, is there any difference between it and the USDM version
     
  2. dohch22a4

    dohch22a4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Yeah, the fuel maps are for 10.6:1 pistons and the top speed is limited to 112 MPH.
     
  3. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    so using it on a USDM gsr would prolly not be a great idea eh? i'd run rich all the time wouldn't i
     
  4. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    anyone else? i wanna be sure it won't work before i go out and send the money- HELP
     
  5. dohch22a4

    dohch22a4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    You'd run a little rich, but not enough to notice much of a difference. You'd lose a little fuel economy. Just buy a USDM one instead, it can't be any more expensive, can it? Besides, if you feel the need to go over 112, the USDM unit is just the ticket. :driver:
     
  6. calvin

    calvin Senior Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    NETHERLANDS
    buy the jdm and chip to remove the speed limiter.
     
  7. dohch22a4

    dohch22a4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Why bother with JDM? He doesn't have 10.6:1 pistons does he? No. Just buy the USDM ECU. It'll perform better and give you better fuel economy. Plus, if you so choose you can go over 112 mph.
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    jdm gsr's aren't 10.6. they are 10.2

    you are thinking b16 :)

    but getting a usdm ecu is the easiest way to do it thats for sure.
     
  9. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    plus look to the future. usdm ecu's are easier to chip than jdm ecu's due to the fact that jdm ecu have surface mount soldering.
     
  10. dohch22a4

    dohch22a4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    B, I just checked your reference section and hmotorsonline.com and they both say 10.6. I'm pretty sure B16A's only came with 10.2 and 10.4.

    ...and the B16B is 10.8
     
  11. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    ok, i agree with what you guys said- i had planned on going USDM P72, but someone emailed me with 150 bucks for a HDM P72 shipped and I was gonna jump on the deal but then i remembered the differences- thansk guys :thumbsup:
     
  12. driverunknown

    driverunknown Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Aren't the JDM ECUs optimized for higher octane fuel?
     
  13. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page