1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JDM tranny swap question

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 94RedSiGal, Mar 21, 2004.

  1. 94RedSiGal

    94RedSiGal Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    So... as B, E and Clayton know (and thanks to all of you!), I now have a JDM D-series tranny installed in my 1994 stock Si. The tranny code is S20. My speedo sensor doesn't work. So a VSS swap is in order. So what parts do I need to scrounge up? JDM or USM parts? Do I need to find a JDM plug to splice into my wiring harness? I can't have such a quick car and NOT have a working speedo.

    Help!
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Also without a working VSS the vtec won't kick in. Anyone should work, maybe the one from you old tranny.
     
  3. Bns773

    Bns773 Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    The VSS on my jdm b16 was jacked up after my swap so I repinned the plug. This still didn't work so I went to the junk yard and got a VSS of a Prelude. It's been working fine since. You might want to just pull it and bring it to the junk yard or parts store to get the right match. A USDM will work on it just fine try your old one.
     
  4. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    should be just plug and play.
     
  5. 94RedSiGal

    94RedSiGal Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I went to the dealership and got a printout of an exploded view of the speedo sensor. Some stuff underneath needs to be swapped over.
     
  6. 94RedSiGal

    94RedSiGal Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    So this seems to be the stuff that needs to move over to the new tranny. It's just underneath the top plug assembly.

    [​IMG]

    Looks simple enough... but for some odd reason, Clayton persuaded me to LEAVE my old Si tranny down in his garage in CT. So I have to go back down there for the parts. *sigh*
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page