1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Knock Sensor

Discussion in 'Prelude' started by Naz, Mar 1, 2007.

  1. Naz

    Naz Mach 5

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    New Yoooork
    I finished my swap and everything is perfect, just my damn knock sensor is throwing a code, anyone know where i can get one cheap, the freakin dealer wants like 150 for it, i bought one off ebay but is bigger than the one on my engine, I have a Jdm H22A1 engine, all stock , just headers , stock ecu also. any help would be appreciated
    pics coming soon.
    ohh or is there a way to bypass the knock sensor without chipping the ecu
    naz..
    thanx
     
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    you can ground the knock from the ecu and vtec will work.. it'll still throw the code though
     
  3. Naz

    Naz Mach 5

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    New Yoooork
    no problem with the vtec, it still works with the code thrown, but the thing is that the car only throws the code when the car is warmed up and then the car goes into limp mode, i can feel the power difference. So do you think if i ground it it will still work.
    naz..
     
  4. RoyalFelix

    RoyalFelix New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    ???

    if the knock sensor isnt connected you lose power? where is it located? is it that plug on the rear of the motor on like the middle right side (facing the engine hood poped)
     
  5. Naz

    Naz Mach 5

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    New Yoooork
    the knock sensor is located on the back of the engine under the oil filter, well for my engine anyways, jdm H22A1 , caus ei heard on other engines its above the oilt filter..
    naz..
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    your knock should be above the oil filter, near the head.. the one below the oil filter is the oil pressure sender maybe, .. something like that.. check and see if you have above teh oil filter, right under the intake mani.


    this pic is of a b18c, but it should be in a similar location.. i think you have it plugged in the wrong spot
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2007
  7. RoyalFelix

    RoyalFelix New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    power

    so my question is do you lose HP if its not connected?
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    start your own thread then
     
  9. Naz

    Naz Mach 5

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    New Yoooork
    wooo aight man lemme check that right now imma be back to tell yall what i see
     
  10. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    whats the word??
     
  11. Naz

    Naz Mach 5

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    New Yoooork
    yo much thanks to eg6sir vbmenu_register("postmenu_782414", true); , you were absolutly right, thanks alot, no check engine light, everything perfect, thanks again everyone for the help.
    Naz..
     
  12. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    eh no problem, thats what this place is for.... glad i could help
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page