1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ls/vtec Ctr Pistons +juniii Cams

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by no2psi, Apr 7, 2003.

  1. no2psi

    no2psi Senior Member

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    :unsure:
    I have this combo in my garage. Ls/vtec with CTR pistons and JUN stage 3 cams. Has anyone out there run this combo? Did you have any clearance problems. I allready have the motor built and have concerns about valve piston contact. I dont have a honda vtec engagement tool to check clearance either.
    Thanks
     
  2. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    Why didn't you clay the engine before you put it together?
     
  3. no2psi

    no2psi Senior Member

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Well, when i built the motor it had stock cams. No clearance issues. But I got a sweet deal on Jun III's so I put them in there. Even if I had clay checked the motor it would'nt help without engaging vtec, to check the big lobes. So now I am wondering if anyone has done this, to know whether or not it works, without having to dissassemble.
     
  4. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    I can't tell you if it will work, but the way I clayed my engine without the tool is I measured clearances on the small lobe. Then I measured the difference in height between the highest point on the big lobe and the highest point on the small lobe and I made wure I had at least that clearance.
     
  5. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    if you have a helms it explains how to engage the vtec. all you really need is compressed air, put it into the service port and plug the hole with your finger (it kinda hurts, but tough it out :p)
     
  6. no2psi

    no2psi Senior Member

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Thanks, I will give it a try. I will post numbers when I get to a dyno. Or pictures if I blow it up. Knock on wood.
    By the way " LS/VTEC" I saw your pictures...nice. What was the valve piston clearance? looks pretty f#$kin close.
     
  7. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    I had to do it my way because I do not own a compressor. :(

    I have all kinds of clearance in there, which is what I expected with ITR cams. I don't remember what the numbers came out to, I have it written down somewhere. If I find it I'll post the actual numbers.
     
  8. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    you dont need a compressor for compressed air, you can buy the bottles of compressed air :)
     
  9. no2psi

    no2psi Senior Member

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Ok, I clay checked the motor. And it is crazy close. Adding the stock head gasket I get clearance of .030" I did the clay check and added 3mm for the vtec lobe and took into consideration of a .029" head gasket. Man this sucks.
    Anyways if anyone ever asks if you can use CTR pistons in a Ls/vtec tell them to make sure that the block they are using and the head they are using dont have to be resurfaced. Now I have to cut more valve relief or use a bigger head gasket.
     
  10. EF9

    EF9 Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    I've got CTR and JUNIII cams in my B16A even had 3 thos off the head, cams gear IN +2, ex-1. no clearance problem.
     
  11. no2psi

    no2psi Senior Member

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    "EF9" , is that 30 thousandths or 3 thousandths? Also what valve springs did you use?
     
  12. EF9

    EF9 Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    I'm using TODA valve springs i used to have Toda A, but everyone say you must run JUN springs otherwise the cams would snap, but i've seen people using JUN springs still snap the cams, I doubt is the quality of the cams not the matter of springs .
    The head been milled 3thous approx =0.45mm.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page