1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mini me that doesn't have compression

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by 69crx69, Aug 26, 2004.

  1. 69crx69

    69crx69 Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Wa
    I have just put a d16a6 rebuilt block into my dx crx with a rebuilt z6 head. I already have the mpfi swap which worked before the block swap. even with new rings, head gasket, and valves i still have no comression and no vacuum. I get spark and fuel, but no compression. What could be the problem?

    p.s. the cylinders have been honed.
     
  2. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    what headgasket did you use?
     
  3. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    :withstupid:

    if you have no compression- air is leaking out someplace between the intake stroke and the compression stroke- which i suppose is completely common sense anyways-

    you have a MAJOR sealing problem someplace- are there rings on the pistons?
     
  4. 69crx69

    69crx69 Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Wa
    there are new rings and new valves. the only thing new in the set up i have is the block (which has been honed and new rins have been installed) and the intake manifold (which has been ported to match the z6 intske ports.) i have called several auto repair places and they keep telling me that it is timing, but i have gone through my timing and it still doesn't start.
     
  5. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    how about an intake manifold gasket? is one of those installed?

    i know i'm picking the simple shit, but having 0 compression means there is a big problem, we're not talking about just being off one tooth on the timing belt
     
  6. 69crx69

    69crx69 Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Wa
    it has a brand new intake gasket and i have used 2 head gaskets (one a metal gasket for a z6 and a composite gasket for a a6)
     
  7. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    You only need to use one headgasket... just simply use the Z6 HG.
     
  8. 69crx69

    69crx69 Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Wa
    I'm sorry i ment i tried to start it with one gasket on then when i had no luck i switched to the other gasket. not both on at the same time.
     
  9. projectxspeed

    projectxspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Sounds like there is a big leak somewhere. I would guess either your rings are bad or the hone job was too aggressive and your piston/piston rings are not sealing properly.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page