1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Help Code 6 and cold starting

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by SinisterCivicSI, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. SinisterCivicSI

    SinisterCivicSI New Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    I have a code 6 engine coolant temp out of spec or sensor bad.I have replaced the 2 wire sensor thats in the water neck and still same code?Anyone have any suggestions. Also the car is hard to start when it sit over nite you have to pump the gas to get it started but after it warms up it starts right away with no help every time.
     
  2. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    the 2-wire sensor in the thermostat housing is the cooling fan switch, not the engine coolant temp sensor - the sensor that controls code 6 is the 2-wire sensor on the end of the head below the distributor - pumping the gas pedal on a fuel injected engine while trying to start it does nothing except let more air into the engine causing a lean condition and making it harder to start - the cold engine requires a richer mixture which means less air and more fuel - that is why carbed engines had a choke to reduce the amount of air when the engine was cold - pumping the pedal before trying to start it does nothing as fuel injected engines don't have an accelerator pump, like carbed engines, that puts more fuel into the engine - don't touch the gas pedal when starting it - the ECU will control the starting mixture and ignition timing
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2007
  3. 99exturbod16

    99exturbod16 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    SC
    Yes... I told you on the other forum thats not the ECT sensor. Its below the dizzy closest to the radiator. You may have bad wiring or a bad ECT alone. I have an extra ect sensor is you need one. But yes you have start up problems due to bad ect.
    You will have difficulty starting the car, your cold fast idle will not work properly due to it not knowing the temp and it will frequently stall while trying to warm up...

    CHeck for continuity in the wires... if all else fails get a new ect sensor.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2007
  4. 99exturbod16

    99exturbod16 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    SC
    I take that back... low coolant has nothing to do with that, it has to do with idle surge or bad iacv.

    But yeah you will have difficulty starting the car, your cold fast idle will not work properly due to it not knowing the temp of the engine and it may stall while trying to warm up.

    Check for continuity in the wires... if all else fails... buy a new ect sensor.
     
  5. SinisterCivicSI

    SinisterCivicSI New Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    I will check the wiring today and get back to you all. Isnt that sensor a single wire sensor?The sensor is on a D16Y8.
     
  6. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    it is a 2-wire sensor - the 1-wire sensor next to it is for the temp gauge
     
  7. SinisterCivicSI

    SinisterCivicSI New Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Yeah I found tye sensor 2 wire beside and kinda below the dizzy and it looks new.I tested the sensor by ohm testing it when cold it is open and as the car heat up its closed also IO showed 4.8 volts across the plug wires?Is this correct?
     
  8. SinisterCivicSI

    SinisterCivicSI New Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    went to autozone and there testing book showed ohm test should be .100 up or down from cold to hot and it tested fine there and at home when i tested it again! So that means wiring issues?What voltage should I get between the 2 wires in the plug anyone?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page