1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need swap help

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by 1gEF-8, Mar 13, 2005.

  1. 1gEF-8

    1gEF-8 Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    i just completed my d16z6 swap. to keep things simple i kept it obd0. vtec is not hooked up yet. during intial fire up it soared to 4500 rpm. i had to retard the timing so much to get it down to 1000 rpm. there is zero throttle response. i have to hold the throttle down for about 5-10 sec before the rpm starts to rise. any rpm below 900 rpm the engine starts shake like its bout to die. any time i align the timing marks the engine revs to 4000-4500 rpm and idles there!
     
  2. B18aCRX

    B18aCRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CA
    Assuming your question is how to fix the idle, are your vaccuum lines routed correctly?
     
  3. 1gEF-8

    1gEF-8 Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005

    yes they are routed correctly. ive checked them several hundred times.
     
  4. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Any codes. You should probably look into checking the TPS.
     
  5. 1gEF-8

    1gEF-8 Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005

    no codes
     
  6. 1gEF-8

    1gEF-8 Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
  7. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    There isnt any slack in your throttle cable is there? Even if your vacum lines are hooked up right are there any leaks maybe? Have you checked your plugs and wires to make sure you dont have any fouled plugs? What are some of the things you have done to try and fix it.
     
  8. racintweek

    racintweek Senior Member

    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    i bet you have vacuum hooked to your dashpot, pull the hose you have hooked to it plug it onto the port on your intake boot/arm and see what happens
     
  9. 1gEF-8

    1gEF-8 Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005

    figured it out. i was looking over the engine and saw backfire through the intakemanifold. shut it off and what do i find. my dumb ass over looked a piece(bout 1.5 inch square around a stud on top of the #3 cylinder) of the old intake mainfold. took out the piece and the engine is running like a champ.
     
  10. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Congrats Im glad you figured it out. Some times it stupid stuff like that but hey next time you run into a problem like that youll have more experince with it.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page