1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New here, blew a head gasket...

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by CRX2NR18, Mar 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CRX2NR18

    CRX2NR18 Senior Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Hey everyone i drive an 89 CRX Hf, i blew a head gasket today, and i have an extra SI head laying around, i did a search n didnt find much but would it be safe to put an SI head on HF block? What would the compression ratio be? could i run pump gas? and would it be reliable? oh and what else am i going to need? like timing belt?
    thanks guys
     
  2. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    I'm guessing that would be ok. If you did that then you probably would need a new computer (pm6) but should be ok as far as I know. Compression and other specs I would have no idea, ask another person here for that.
     
  3. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Then again a hf is a 1.5l get a second opinion
     
  4. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    You'll need the Si computer, intake manifold and distributor and I think thats it. If you want VTEC your going to have to wire it up too...and tap your block for the oil to the head for vtec (see an article on an LS/VTEC setup, that would be applicable in that your putting a VTEC head on a non-VTEC block).
    Theres an article sort of like this in the "articles" section.
    http://www.hondaswap.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=29791
     
  5. Projectzc

    Projectzc Senior Member

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    No you can NOT do that. The Hf is a 8 Valve motor the Si is a 16 valve motor. The hf pistons do not have reliefs for the extra 8 valves you will bend 8 valves if you do that. You are better off replaceing the head gasket for a quick reliable fix. Or getting your self a new motor. Any D series will drop in matched w/ you existing tranny. If you decided to swap motors and stick with a D series civic motor I would suggest up gradeing trannys and hubs. If you stick with the tranny you have you may possiable break the axles with a more powerful engine. As the HF tranny axles are much weaker then the si.

    Good luck
     
  6. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    uh... I think he's talking about a crx si head, not a b16a head. I've read on this site before about swapping a crx si head onto an hf block. Form what I've read the block is the same, you will bump the compression slightly higher. There is no vtec on a crx si head, so don't listen to the previous post. Just look around on the site, and something is bound to turn up. It is doable.
     
  7. kyleirwin

    kyleirwin Retired OG

    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    Vegas
  8. CRX2NR18

    CRX2NR18 Senior Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    cool thanks guys , so does that mean i will have to get an SI timing belt too? or can i just take the cam gear off the HF head and put it on ?? sry i have alot of questions :)
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    This is not Swap-related. This is the Swap-related forum.

    Try again in the right forum.

    :locked2:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page