1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not Hitting Rev Limit...

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by dennis, Jan 22, 2003.

  1. dennis

    dennis Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    We swapped a d16z6 into my friends hatch. Everything went great. Runs fine, got all the codes sorted out, VTEC is engaging. Only problem is that he's not able to hit the rev limit of his p28 which should be 7600 I believe. It falls short (according to the tach) at about 6800 or so. We first suspected the tach, but the tach seems to be showing the right vtec crossover point, so it seems to be accurate.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    does it bounce like its a fuel cut?
     
  3. dennis

    dennis Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Yes it does.

    It _seems_ like it's hitting the rev limit, but not the right RPM according to what the tach says and what a p28 should rev to.
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    are you sure its a p28?
    do you have proper oil pressure?
     
  5. dennis

    dennis Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    we're positive it's a p28 - as far as oil pressure, we haven't gauged that, but everything else seems to be running fine w/o throwing codes.

    At first we were wondering if there was a difference between manual and automatic p28's, but we're pretty sure it's a manual and from some of the stuff I found on the web, the rev limits look to be the same.

    Thanks...
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    if it was an auto- you WOULD be throwing a code for the auto tranny sensor thing... so if no codes, its a manual

    i dunno - my guess is oil pressure, or the tach is way off...

    cuz frankly, even though redline is 7200, mine bounces at 7600
     
  7. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    what are the numbers on the ECU
     
  8. dennis

    dennis Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    37820-P28-A01-760-211622
     
  9. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    its def. a manual one.
     
  10. dennis

    dennis Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    for my own benefit and maybe otheres... What in the number says it's an auto or manual?
     
  11. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    2nd to last # is a 5 = auto
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page