1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OBD2 chips?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by mdlax1, Jul 6, 2003.

  1. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    Do they make them other than the aem plug and play phsyical chip's
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    aem is not a chip. its a whole ecu.

    obd2 chips are non-existant as far as i know due to the scan-tool plug in features that obd2 offers.
     
  3. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    the chips can be made, but single write chips cost nearly 600 dollars each.. it's just not cost effective
     
  4. blundar

    blundar Senior Member

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnasty, Ohio
    Correction: 66P507 chips for OBD2A (96-98) cost between $37 and $60 depending on where you buy them and how many you purchase. In addition to the chip you must purchase or build a programmer, and find a program. This isn't that tricky, but its not cake like OBD0/OBD1. The parts are One-Time-Programmable, and are pretty much a waste of money as far as I'm concerned.

    A lot of the OBD2B ECUs (99-01) use the 66589, which has a pin-compatible flash replacement, the 66Q589. There are pictures of a Mugen N1 CTR-ish ECU on PGMFI that features a 66Q589 and the electronics neccessary to flash it.

    I believe there are a handful of programs in some corner of PGMFI... Prob OBD2 section. The schematics for the programmer are also there.

    OBD2 for the most part is a waste of time, at least now.
     
  5. calvin

    calvin Senior Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    NETHERLANDS
    u can use obd1 ecu with a harnass(odb2->odb1)
     
  6. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page