1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd2 engine into an obd1 chassis help please

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by silva95teg, May 16, 2006.

  1. silva95teg

    silva95teg Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    want to put a obd2 b18b motor in a obd1 chassis and use an obd1 computer with it. I have the ob1 harness from my original motor i am just picking up an engine with less km on the odometer. So what exactly needs to be changed to work with the obd1 computer . The injectors ? the intake manifold ? i know about the distributer , but thats easy to convert, i can just take the harness off my old one. Let me know guys , i know someone has done this.

    Just to make this clear it is an 2000 b18b going into a 1995 integra.
     
  2. killercannible

    killercannible Senior Member

    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    The manifold is fine, the injectors won't work(if you have your civic injectors they are the same), a few of the sensors and plugs are different but they can be rewired. Its not that hard.
     
  3. silva95teg

    silva95teg Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    I dont know what you are talking about refering to civic injectors, this is a 2000 b18b going into my 1995 integra which already has a b18b but is obd1 , someone must know all the differences between the two engines.
     
  4. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Easiest way: use the obd2 integra harness and everthing _should_ plug in fine.

    Otherwise, swap the injectors,alternator and distributor from the obd1 b18 to the obd2.
     
  5. silva95teg

    silva95teg Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    so can i still use my obd1 computer then if i use the obd2 harness?
     
  6. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    yes.
     
  7. silva95teg

    silva95teg Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    [/quote]

    Easiest way: use the obd2 integra harness and everthing _should_ plug in fine.

    Otherwise, swap the injectors,alternator and distributor from the obd1 b18 to the obd2.
    [/quote]


    i looked into it and the connectors to the computer are different on obd2 computers than they are on obd1 comps ........ so i dont see this working. Anyone else know the exact things that need to be done ?
     
  8. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Yea, no one told you that you could use the obd2 computer.
    You will have to use the obd1 ecu and use the obd2 integra harness.
     
  9. silva95teg

    silva95teg Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    the obd2 harness connector wont fit into the obd1 computer though ......
     
  10. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Integra harnesses should break off at the shock towers inside the engine bay
     
  11. silva95teg

    silva95teg Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    would those be those three big grey connectors ? on the passenger side , and then i think there are a couple more on the drivers side ... both at the shock towers. Those didnt change between obd1 and obd2 ?
     
  12. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Not in the integra
     
  13. silva95teg

    silva95teg Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    well if thats the case i thank you in advance for your help , it is greatly appreciated. By plugging into those connectors i can use all the obd2 stuff right , like the alternator , distributer , injectors ect right ?
     
  14. Estorvito

    Estorvito Soy Boricua

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    JUst drop the engine in...


    Theres no reason to swap injectors or what not...
    The plugs are all the same in both harness.

    All you need is a p75 obd1 ecu and youre all set.



    Good Luck! :)

    wtf are you talking about? [​IMG]
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page