1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd2a vs obd2b

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by wisemansoji, Oct 27, 2004.

  1. wisemansoji

    wisemansoji Senior Member

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    is there any diference in the wiring in a 98gsr vs a 2000 gsr, or are the harnesses the same
     
  2. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I think the harnesses are the same, the ecu's are different.

    You need a ob2 harness, I got an Ls one.
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    ecu plugs are different.
    obd2 has some other shit on it too as far as emissions goes, so the harness is different.

    get an obd1 or 2a if you can.
     
  4. wisemansoji

    wisemansoji Senior Member

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    could I use an obd2 LS engine harness on a 00si engine ina 94hbcx to run obd1.......cuz from the sounds of it I can't use the 2000gsr harness
     
  5. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    What's wrong with your harness, I don't know much about the conversion so I don't know what it involves.

    You can use an LS harness then add the vtec wires, seems simple.
     
  6. wisemansoji

    wisemansoji Senior Member

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    2000 b16A2 sir engine in a 94 civic cx HB , thats my swap. I wanna run it obd1 what year is your harness from, and how much would u want for it. I live in canada.
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    the easiest thing for you to do is to use your cx harness that's in your car now.

    drop the motor in.

    convert to 4 wire o2.
    run the wires for vtec
    run the wires for knock.
    swap plugs for the distributor, alternaotr and injectors- OR, just use obd1 b16a del sol vtec) distributor, alternator and injectors.

    you're done.

    its really not that much work.

    getting another harness, you're still going to have to do some of the same shit. might as well make it free.

    theres acticles and how-tos on all of these things here.
     
  8. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    if you still want my harness, throw me an offer.
     
  9. wisemansoji

    wisemansoji Senior Member

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    if I use stock harness why do i need to change the distributor and injectors to obd1,..........is it because the plugs don't match............if I change the plugs I can use all the obd2 stuff on the engine
     
  10. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    Its not a big deal to change your injectors, use your stock CX one.

    You can change the plugs on the dizzy if you want, I converted my obd0 to obd1
     
  11. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home

    you don't need to. notice the OR i posted above.

    obd1/2 electronically are the same thing.
    but, they use different plugs.

    so, its either swap the plugs onto the obd1 cx harness and use the obd2 parts

    OR

    swap the parts for a compaible obd1 part to plug into the stock cx harness
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page