1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ouch

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by INJEN78, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    yesterday i installed a narrowband A/F gauge in my 91 civic..i ran the power wire from the power wire for the ecu,the ground to the ground wire for the ecu and the other wire to the o2 sensor wire(obd0) started the car up and it is dumping fuel,theres smoke coming out the exhaust and i can smell the gas in the exhaust..but im also now throwing codes for map sensor and injector,code 3 and code 16..
    so my question is what could be wrong???the car ran fine right before i installed the gauge..
    what would happen if my injector resistor box just quits working?
     
  2. t3t4delsol

    t3t4delsol New Member

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    York, Pa
    I would take the ground off the ecu and run it straight to a ground somewhere on the car. Also you know that narrowband a/f guages do nothing but a pretty light show. you need a wideband if you want to know anything.

    Also which wire did you tap into for the o2 sensor? did you use a pinout on the ecu or did you chop the wires at the o2 sensor
     
  3. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    i spliced right into the o2 wire right where it goes into the exhaust manifold..i didnt cut it,i exposed the wire and tapped into it..all the connections are good,
     
  4. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    obd0 has a single wire o2 so there's only one wire for him to cut into...

    Sounds to me like you should find a different power and ground source. The ecu (certain parts of the ecu boards) is set to see a certain amount of millivolts and milliohms so by you tapping into those sources, you could be drawing a certain amount of power that the ecu needs...
     
  5. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    ok but could this be causing my car to rrun rich??and throw codes
     
  6. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    More than likely seeing as how the car ran fine before you touched it. Disconnect those connections for the gauge and see if it starts running properly again...
     
  7. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    unhooked the connections and its not throwing codes but is still running waaay rich,
    what if the 02 sensor is bad??or maybe the injector resistor box??
     
  8. t3t4delsol

    t3t4delsol New Member

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    York, Pa
    what brand of guage is it? I had a apc before my wideband and it killed my o2 sensor with in a week
     
  9. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    autometer..im hopin its just the o2,but will the o2 dying make it run super rich?
     
  10. t3t4delsol

    t3t4delsol New Member

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    York, Pa
    yes, but if the o2 went out you should have a cel for it
     
  11. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    Usually not for obd0. It's not nearly as sensitive as obd1 or obd2.
     
  12. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    damnit,i have a new o2 sensor but dont want to install it until i get my header...
    ive read up and it says that either the o2 or the coolant temp sensor could be bad,both causing this to happen,
     
  13. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    yea on an obd0 motor the o2 sensor doesn't affect the engine nearly as much as obd1 or obd2. You could unplug it and your car would drive virtually the same as it does with it plugged in.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page