1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oxygen Sensor

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by 92stoccord, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. 92stoccord

    92stoccord Big Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,595
    Likes Received:
    234
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Salem, Ohio
    I got my CEL run, and it came back as the first O2 sensor. By first do they mean upstream or downstream? Do I really have to pay 350 bucks for a damn O2 sensor?
     
  2. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    first o2 would be upstream. no idea why it would be that expensive though. unless you're driving an hx that is, which uses a wideband.
     
  3. 92stoccord

    92stoccord Big Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,595
    Likes Received:
    234
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Salem, Ohio
  4. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    shit for $350 you could just get some sort of engine management on there and just delete the o2 sensor, get it tuned and run it open loop.
     
  5. 92stoccord

    92stoccord Big Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,595
    Likes Received:
    234
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Salem, Ohio
    I'd be highly nervous about that 1, for losing fuel economy, 2, for losing reliability, and 3 I don't wanna fuck shit up.
     
  6. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    nah my car doesnt use a lot of sensors including o2, vtec oil pressure, iacv, etc... it is tuned on neptune. but even tuning it on chrome you can just not use the o2 sensor, it would run fine after a dyno tune.

    but i understand your concern. for me fuel mileage is not an issue, and there is not really a "winter" in south florida so the same tune works year round.
     
  7. 92stoccord

    92stoccord Big Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,595
    Likes Received:
    234
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Salem, Ohio
    Yeah tuning for 3 months then tuning back would get really annoying, soooooo I'll stick to just the shitty damn expensive o2 sensor.
     
  8. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
    OBD1 or OBD0 o2 sensor? I got 2 4 wire before cat o2 sensors.
     
  9. 92stoccord

    92stoccord Big Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,595
    Likes Received:
    234
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Salem, Ohio
  10. tabKola

    tabKola New Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Tewksbury MA
    HXs use 5-wire O2 sensors not 4-wire.
     
  11. Dmolchanoff

    Dmolchanoff New Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse
    haha funny shit is i just bought a 93 civic hatch ex and my CEL is on due to the o2 sensor not plugged in...the messed up thing about that is....I CANT FIND THE DAMN CONNECTOR TO PLUG THE F***ER IN!!! lol anyone got any advice its a single cam d16z6
     
  12. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    ^^^^ Its up under the intake manifold hanging down. Get under the car and see if it was tucked away by someone.
     
  13. 92stoccord

    92stoccord Big Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,595
    Likes Received:
    234
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Salem, Ohio
    Soooooo.... funny thing happened, I disconnected my battery, CEL went off and my shift light started working. Also my gas mileage improved greatly. Now I"m just confused.
     
  14. tabKola

    tabKola New Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Tewksbury MA
    Either the ECU misdiagnosed the O2 as broken when it isn't or the sensor is giving values that are slightly out of spec which take longer to throw CEL's. Either way keep driving and see if it comes back.
     
  15. 92stoccord

    92stoccord Big Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,595
    Likes Received:
    234
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Salem, Ohio
    Well it's back after 50 cycles (it's been a while now) This is whats making me get like 21-33mpg per tank right?
     
  16. tabKola

    tabKola New Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Tewksbury MA
    If it's the primary O2 then probably because that is what the ECU uses to change the AFR and it can't lean it out the way the HX is designed to if the sensor is bad.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page