1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

P13 ECU FROM AUTO TO 5 SPEED

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by 95preludetypes, Feb 29, 2004.

  1. 95preludetypes

    95preludetypes Member

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Is it possible to change an auto jdm p13 ecu and change it in to a 5 speed can i just chip it or is there something else i need to do thank you
     
  2. Speedz

    Speedz Junior Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    i'd have to see a picture of the insides of your ecu.. generally on obd1 ecu's there are some RP jumpers to remove and add in another position.
    since its a JDM ecu, the jdm p30 ecu i chipped a while ago had all surface mount components.. i dont remember if it had the RP jumpers or not.. i'm not sure if the p13 has all surface mount components like the p30... i would really need to see inside the ecu.
     
  3. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
  4. katman

    katman Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Location:
    PASADENA, CALIFORNIA

    Yes, you can simply have the ecu reprogrammed with a 5speed program and it will convert to a 5speed ecu.

    If you don't know who I am *snicker* I reprogram ecu's. :) http://jdmhondaparts.com/ecu.htm
     
  5. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i was under the impression that you needed to remove resistors in the ECU, i've never been able to simply convert any ECU by reprogramming it....
     
  6. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    then you haven't been using the right programs, Pills.
    A lot of the blue-blood Japanese racing programs (real Mugen, Spoon, etc.) disable the check for the auto trans in software - you can put them in an ECU that is configured for auto trans circuitry and it will act like a 5 speed.

    See PGMFI Wiki for more. This is covered.
     
  7. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i hadn't been trying to convert anything... my ecu tunings are few and far between these days.. just the group of friends with hondata etc. and a few using CROME... but we all have 5 speed ecus already :)

    i was just wondering if that was true
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page