1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please Help...air/fuel guage problem....

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by I<3myhonda, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. I<3myhonda

    I<3myhonda New Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Location:
    d-town
    hello all iam in need of some help. i have a 96' ek with a 95'ls motor. i had my motor installed by my "friend" and when he did so he installed a air/fuel gauge and oil pressure. my car had gotten stolen by some DUMB ass and took some things(safc2,a/f gauge,tac,deck) and the way he took the stuff he cant use half on it [​IMG] . but anyways he just cut the wires to EVERYTHING!!!!! he snipped the a/f gauge at the gauge as well as the tac, safc, and my o2 sensor????? so i re-bought everything..some on ebay(a/f guage which came with a little black box with orange,white,red and black?????dont understand that and guy wont answer my ?'s) so here is my problem...i re-wired EVERYTHING and i was looking on forums and some people said to wire the purple wire to the ecu white/red wire....so i did and the a/f gauge stays all the way and the last notch and DOESNT move???? do i have a bad gauge or wrong wire??? should i run it to the o2 sensor itself??? if so which wire??? please someone help
     
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    if its not a wideband its worthless..
     
  3. Da1nonly0015

    Da1nonly0015 New Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    i had the same problem I couldn't go by the o2 i had to go by my ecu and mine stays in rich for the most patr until i start slowing down and letting the engine rev on its own. If i am thinking correctly tonight that should be an OBD2 on the largest clip into the ecu there should be i think 3 almost solid white wires probe each one of those with the signal wire for your A/F gauge and one of them should work for ya. Hope that helps
     
  4. I<3myhonda

    I<3myhonda New Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Location:
    d-town
    oh so its on the big clip?? i thought it was ith the map, rev,....clip.....but when it stops snowing ill give that a shot....and iam pretty sure a 4 wire o2 is wideband??? thanks for the help guys!!
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2006
  5. Da1nonly0015

    Da1nonly0015 New Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    nah 4 wire means that it is a heated sensor
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    its just a pretty light show :ph34r:
     
  7. I<3myhonda

    I<3myhonda New Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Location:
    d-town
    so is it not wideband?? i thought 95 and newer it was??
     
  8. Da1nonly0015

    Da1nonly0015 New Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    no it is not a wideband o2 sensor, obd2 they came out with the heated circuit o2 sensor so they would be more accuraet than the old style. Yes wide bands would also be 4 wire but they are about 250 a pop and would make your air/fuel gauge read more accurate
     
  9. I<3myhonda

    I<3myhonda New Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Location:
    d-town
    ok cause when i went to get a new one a while ago, it was about that. how would i know if its wideband or not?? and any ideas why the guy gave me this little black box(orange,black,red,white wires) with this a/f guage???
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page