1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Power loss

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 92civicb18b1, Oct 28, 2003.

  1. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I'm just about finished swapping in my b18b1, but 1st my problem is when I rev it, it struggles a little bit, at around 1500 rpm, it hesitates up until around 2000 rpm. I think it may be just because I'm usin the stock DX ecu but I'm not sure. I dunno if it makes a difference but I do not have the shift linkage hooked up and I guess it's in gear cause when I let go off the clutch the speedo will also go up when I push the throttle. I can't tell you if the the hubs spin because I didn't put in the driveaxles yet.
     
  2. 9k RPM EG6

    9k RPM EG6 Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    originally: Napa, CA now: Phoeniz, AZ (for school)
    first off, don't run the car without axles...not wise.

    Next, it's studdering due to high resistance at just off idle, then it's probably a problem in the ignition systems. High resistance in the plug wires, incorrect gap, or maybe you ignition timing is WAY off. Set base timing (take ECU out of the equation by jumpering green plug under dash/passenger side). After base timing is set, check wires for high resistance or open, and check spark plugs. After that, I'd say you're definately looking at an ECU problem. you can take it out of gear by stikcing a screwdriver into the linkage and pulling it into nuetral, but PUT AXLES IN.

    -B
     
  3. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    Shit, so If I just wait till I put in correct ECU then I can skip setting the base timing (TW I do not understand what you said). I was stupid enough for just not going to strauss and buying some new spark plugs and wires. I messed around with it a bit and I had a a vaccum hose disconnected, It helped a little, but still got the hesitation. O and i gotta know why it isn't smart to run it without axles, I never heard that before so please enlighten me.
     
  4. 9k RPM EG6

    9k RPM EG6 Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    originally: Napa, CA now: Phoeniz, AZ (for school)
    manual transmission fluid, whatever you use (I use redline fluids) "pick up" and run across and through the gears to lubricate them. So you either do not have any fluid in there (if it's not shooting out), which means you're murdering your tranny, or you have it on some kind of tilt not allowing fluid to come out. EIther way, I'd put the axles in...much safer!

    definately change wires and plugs. you still need to set base timing. There is a green two pin connector under the passenger side dash near the door. Jump it (connect it some how, paperclips work good). That will allow you to set **base timing**. You'll need a timing light and have some one show you how to modulate the distributor to advance and retard timing. Good luck again!
     
  5. kaoskustoms

    kaoskustoms Senior Member

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    casper wyoming man
    dont wast your time messing with it when you are runnng your dx computer your computer (dx) will run it (duh) but it will not run it correct get the correct ecu and then mess with it chances are 99% that you will not have these problems also you do not have to jump the wire to time the motor that is just silly set it to 8 degrees and run it all that jumping the conector does is read codes it puts the computer in to diagnostic check now how would that help you time it? :ph34r: also know that this is the motor that i am running in my 92 cx hatch with the right computer and i have worked at honda for 2 years that does not include all the honda stuff that i have done before working at the dealer happy motering and have fun eating up all the punks with over priced b16 VTEC's
     
  6. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    We've been over this already. According to my Helms manual (you should know what this is if you work for Honda :roll: ) stock timing for the LS engine is 15 degrees advanced. Not the 8 degrees shit you keep posting.
     
  7. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I might as well try both. and as for jumping the connectors, I was gonna kinda skip that step anyway
     
  8. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I fixed it, it was the throttle position sensor, I guess that 11 year old civic TPs just wasn;t doin it's job anymore. Set timing at about 8* and runs fine.
     
  9. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    15 degree is right, listen to lsvtec, if you let off the timing pretty low you will lose a good amount of power, and another Q. If you don't have axles on and please tell me you atleast have 1 quart of tranny fluid in their, cause if you don't they you could be fucking up your tranny when messin with it.
     
  10. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    Of course I do, I'm would let it run dry. I'd like to at least use this tranny once. LOL
     
  11. lsvtechater

    lsvtechater Junior Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    sorry mister lsvtec i was looking in the wrong spot of the acura service manuel from acura not my helms from checkers
    give a guy a break and quit talking shit
    oh and also the (acura manuel from acura says 14)
    so kiss my rear end
    thanks and have a nice day
    bitch
     
  12. ek9r

    ek9r Senior Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    :lol: :lol: :emofo: :boxing:

    thats some funny shit yo!!
     
  13. jiahanhao

    jiahanhao Senior Member

    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Location:
    Southern Cali...

    he made a second account just to talk shit.. LOL
     
  14. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR

    Really, was this necessary?

    You Haynes manual might say 14 :roll:

    Helms says 15.
     
  15. jiahanhao

    jiahanhao Senior Member

    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Location:
    Southern Cali...
    LSVTEC... I think you misunderstood him.. that one guy at Acura, Manuel, told him it was 14. And Manuel is never wrong...
     
  16. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    WTF, mine says 16, I'm gonna just go and set it in the middle (15).
     
  17. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    You are absolutely right, I misread my manual. The B18A1 and the B17A1 both call for 16 degrees advance.
     
  18. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    hmmm, I always thought the B series vtec motors got 16* and the LS/CRV were just a tad lower.


    Oh well, assuming that setting it at 14-16 you will be fine.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page