1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Q. I have D15B2 engine. What can i do with it?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Yecora, Jul 20, 2003.

  1. Yecora

    Yecora Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    I mean - head swap of course. D15B2 is weak 90 hp engine. But i've heard that may be head from 130hp D15... (not really sure in last symbols) vtec engine. So, is it really possible, what i have to change in engine, and what i have to change in ECU?

    WBR, Oleg

    PS. Do not advise me change a car. I can't do it.
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    don't change cars- change motors :)

    a vtec head swap (also known as the mini me) is a good set up... but for the 4-500 bucks its going to cost you, you're better off saving that for a b16a sir2
     
  3. Yecora

    Yecora Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    "don't change cars- change motors"
    It's like an ORIGIN :)

    O.K. Mini me. Let's talk about it. I don't want to swap to b16a becouse it will be not only engine swap, it will be also upgrade rear brakes (naw on my car rear brakes - drum), suspension and many more. Price of 500 bucks isn't afraid me. To talk more, may be price will be more cheap, becouse i live in russia and there are a lot of car parts from japan. some of them new, some - not. So, what exactly engine can offer me vtec head for my d15b2 with minimum work and parts.

    WBR, Oleg
     
  4. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    if its OBD-1 (92-95) get the D16Z6 head
    if its OBD-2 (96-00??) get the D16Y8 head
     
  5. Yecora

    Yecora Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    it's OBD1 - '92-'95, body - EG4.
    but, if i take head from 1,6 liter engine, will it takes any work in bottom part? or placing parameters is quite as in 1,5 litres?
     
  6. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    ummmm im really not too sure what you just said there

    but yes the D16 head fits fine on the D15 block... i had that setup in my car for a few months before my swap

    get the ECU for the D16Z6 so it will run properly

    you already have VTEC so you shouldnt need to fool with wiring at all
     
  7. Yecora

    Yecora Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    you already have VTEC so you shouldnt need to fool with wiring at all
    - Do you mean "ready to connect VTEC"? Or already have VTEC? If last - it's not right, D15b2 is non-vtec engine, but i've heard that VTEC can work on it without any changes.

    get the ECU for the D16Z6 so it will run properly
    ok, but i will get in end - 1,6 or 1,5 engine? and how many HP? Approximately...

    ummmm im really not too sure what you just said there
    i'm really sorry, but i don't know special terms... in english of course :)

    WBR, Oleg
     
  8. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    ok i thought you said the engine you have has VTEC ....
    you will need to add wires for VTEC then
    im not sure of the exact cc of the mini me setup .... but if built right you will make about 135hp or more

    here is a basic write up on how to do a mini-me conversion ... (it is not the same engine you have but the process is the same)
    http://crx.honda-perf.org/articles/z6swap/z6swap.html
     
  9. Yecora

    Yecora Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    well, i've got today honda EPC (electronic parts catalogue) and search it out. Result is not optimistical... D16z6 head "layer pad" - not sure about this term, is different then in D15b2... Is it fatal, or i can place head anyway?
    Or may be i should search other head, not from d15z6-d16z6 ?
     
  10. david

    david Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    put some nos to it
     
  11. Yecora

    Yecora Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    :put some nos to it

    I going to get street car for everyday use, non drag...
     
  12. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    The "layer pad" is most likely the head gasket. You can use the Z6 head without any problems. Just make sure you read through all the how-to articles and are prepared to pull your engine apart.
     
  13. Yecora

    Yecora Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
  14. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Ooh- that's a good thread. I shouldn't have stopped reading the D Series site.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page