1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question About b16a2 swap into a 96cx

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by ITSWILL, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. ITSWILL

    ITSWILL Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Ortonville, MI
    I am swapping a b16a2 from a 2000 civic SI into my 1997 civic hatch CX.

    I have the b16a2 engine, transmission, shift linkage, cv shafts, engine/trans mounts, computer and wiring harness.

    I have searched rigorously and cannot find the answer.

    I'm seeing people saying that I need to use the wiring harness for my d16 and this just makes no sense to me.

    Can someone explain why I cant just use the b16a2 wiring harness and computer???
     
  2. ITSWILL

    ITSWILL Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Ortonville, MI
    Sorry, I call it a 96 all the time, it is in fact a 97 tho.
     
  3. Dj211855

    Dj211855 New Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Yes, your going to use the stock harness and lenghten some wires to reach certain sensors. Use all the brackets you got from the b16a2.

    I beleive your car has a d16y7 if its a cx. The IACV you got is a three wire, your going to convert that to a two wire. You need to add vtec wires to run to your ecu.
     
  4. ITSWILL

    ITSWILL Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Ortonville, MI
    Thank you for your responce.I'll start modding the old harness tonight.I still don't see why I couldnt use the b16a2 harness? Could someone explain this to me just for peace of mind?
     
  5. ITSWILL

    ITSWILL Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Ortonville, MI
  6. ITSWILL

    ITSWILL Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Ortonville, MI
    For some reason I cant edit my posts (or my profile for that matter), but anyway here are the links againhttp://www.ff-squad.com/tech/wiring/wiring.96-98_a-plug.jpghttp://www.ff-squad.com/tech/wiring/wiring.96-98.jpg
     
  7. ITSWILL

    ITSWILL Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Ortonville, MI
  8. Dj211855

    Dj211855 New Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    supposed to be funny?
     
  9. ITSWILL

    ITSWILL Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Ortonville, MI
    no im not trying to be funny, my account must just be messed up and for some reason when you click that link, you get those two lego fellows going at it.Anyway, don click the link but copy and paste it instead. But besides that. Why wont the b16a2 harness work?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page