1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about DPFI to MPFI

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by Drake, May 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Alright like the title says ive got a question. I bought a resistor box awhile back and there is a green female acceptor on it. Now im really close to doing the wiring on my DX CRX. Im putting in a DOHC ZC five-speed. My question is how do i wire up my car to be MPFI. I have gone to fourthgenhatch.com but i dont get how the wires from the injectors hook into the resistor box. Should I try and find the male end of the resistor box too? Thanks for the help guys. I hope you all get what im asking if not ill clarify. Thanks agian


    Jeramy
     
  2. MaaseyRacer

    MaaseyRacer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
  3. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    My Zc already has the wires hooked up into the injectors but there isnt a plug on the end of it they just cut it. So how do i feed the wires into the resistor box? Thanks for the really detailed picture and links. I re-read your post and i need to find a complete wirring harness then dont I? Thanks agian
     
  4. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA


    :withstupid:
    Very good resource with more links to other good sites. Used this mostly for my swap.
    I ran into a couple cut wire harnesses, I just bought some stranded wire on rolls from RadioShack and spilced, soldered and shrink toobed with what I had to fix, think I used 20awg for most stuff, they have all different rolls/colors, make sure you solder it and use stranded wire because if you dont, a couple years down the line you will have electrical problems and you are going to have to hunt them down to find out which splice went bad.
     
  5. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    So how do i run the wiring to the resistor box? Just exstend the cut wirring harness or what?
     
  6. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    ya, if the wires that need to go to the resistor box are cut, just splice them correctly to extend them to where you need them to go. Unless you can find a partial wire hareness or something.
     
  7. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Ok i circled in red what im asking about. See how the injector plugs go up into one big group of wires then there is a green plug at the end that goes into the resistor box do i need that plug or can i just put the wire in the box without that other plug and just bend the prongs down to hold it in? Thanks for the help i hope the picture helps out in my question.


    [​IMG]

    Jeramy
     
  8. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    I would not recommend that at all, if you cannot get the plug, cut the wires and splice them, just solder everything like I said. If you were to bend the prongs over that would just be asking for problems.
     
  9. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    So cut the plug off the resistor box and then solder them all together? Thanks so much for helping me out Cheese.
     
  10. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    yep, match up the wire colors and such. So I wouldn't mix wires up I tried to use multicolored wires, RadioShack has these too, and wiremarkers, RadioShack also. The markers are just tape with letters on them put an "A" on one end "A" on the other end, or you can use masking tape and a marker. The wire markers I think only cost a couple dollars. Take your time, I did one wire at a time. I can't remember if the wires before the plug were color coded or not? If you have trouble I can look at my motor to tell you where stuff goes.
     
  11. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Awsome cheese thanks so very much. Have a great night man.

    Jeramy
     
  12. MaaseyRacer

    MaaseyRacer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    You cannot just replace your stock harness with the ZC harness, you must cut and add plugs and what not from the ZC harness and add them into your stock harness. Read the site links and print them out and read them over a few times then start, it will all make sense once you start. It is not that complicated at all once you are looking at everything.
     
  13. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Question answered, and wrong forum.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page