1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

quick b20z wiring question

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by luVTEC, Apr 1, 2005.

  1. luVTEC

    luVTEC Senior Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Does the distributor wiring on a b20z (2001 CRV) plug into the stock eg civic harness even though they are different ODB's? Or would a b20b be better?
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    I am 99% sure it is not going to plug right in.
     
  3. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Get the B20Z and just rewire to an OBD I plug, or get an OBD I distibutor.
     
  4. luVTEC

    luVTEC Senior Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Thanks for the info



    ok so the plugs will be different, but you're saying that the number/function of the wires should be the same?


    BTW are there any other wiring issues I should be aware of?
     
  5. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    You should get a manual for your car and the one for the car the motor comes in. Then use that as a guide to rewire it.
     
  6. b20z2

    b20z2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 26, 2004



    That is the way i did it. I have a b20z2 engine and the distributor has only 1 plug.
    the obd1 harnes has 2 plugs.
    What I did was remove the power wire(black w/yellow strip) from the obd2 plug and connected it to the obd1 plug.
    The plug I am refering to is the smaller of the two plugs. The one that has a blue wire and a black w/yellow strip wire on it.
    Then I also added the tach. signal wire inside the distributor and connected that to the blue wire on the plug metioned above.
    You will have to add the tach wire(blue) to the distributor because it does not have one.
    That is if you need the tach. If you don't then don't wprry about that part.
    Thats all I can remember for now.
    Hope that helps.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page