1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. staticv0id

    staticv0id Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    You know that place, over there ->
    I dont know whats going on but my car (toyota paseo) eats my radio fuses like candy, every 15-20 mins the fuse burns out and I have to replace it. Its becoming quite costly but more of an annoyance really. It just started to happen only a few days ago, it never happened before. I had a sound system placed in, 1 600wat sub and 1 600wat amp if you have to know, about 2 months ago. Everything seems to be working properly(Best Buy installed it, :ph34r: please forgive me :cry2: ) till about a few days ago, and I dont know how to fix it, I just kept replacing the fuse everytime it burnt out.

    On the side note, Im a complete nublet when it comes to cars, so please help me, the $2.49 6-pack of fuses every other day is cutting into my college fund. [​IMG]

    Edit: Sorry if this thread is in the wrong spot I didnt know if it when here or 'Other Vehicle Discussions'
     
  2. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    look for a blown light. one of my fuses kept blowing...i changed the light and it stopped...see if that works
     
  3. staticv0id

    staticv0id Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    You know that place, over there ->
    Noperz no blown lights anywhere.

    I guess its no music for a while. :cry2: Thanks for the info though formby.

    Edit: I just noticed the clock goes out as well, when the radio fuse burns.
     
  4. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    check your wiring for shorts or pinched wires and whatnot.
     
  5. neonmike

    neonmike Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    well first what size fuse is it that keeps blowing and what does that fuse control. is it on the same circuit as the ciggerette lighter? if so check to make sure there isnt anything inthere that can short out the cig lighter ie: a penny or somthin. that is very common to happen. also if you have your install reciepts from best buy the install is warrantied for life. you can bring it to any best buy and they check it at no charge to you, you know how i know i work there thats how so if all else fails bring it back to them they SHOULD be able to figure it out if they are at all compitant.
     
  6. staticv0id

    staticv0id Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    You know that place, over there ->
    Its a 15A Fuse, on the panel cover, it says radio/cig. Ill go out right now and see if theres anything in the cig lighter.

    Edit: Hmm.. nadda in the cig lighter, ill have it checked tomorrow at best buy. Would it hurt in anyway if I were to use a fuse that said 20 or 30 in place of the 15 or would that damage something in the short/long run?

    Thanks everyone for your help :)
     
  7. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    You COULD get away with a 20, but I wouldn't recommend it... Usually there is a reason for a fuse blowing. If it is an OEM radio, there is NO WAY it should be pulling 15 amps. An aftermarket shouldn't really pull more than 7. And if you have nothing in the cigarette lighter, you have something really wrong.
     
  8. neonmike

    neonmike Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page