1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Really new to swaps

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by b18govroom, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. b18govroom

    b18govroom New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    I've searched the site for this, but couldn't find anything. I bought a car with a b18b in it, and blew it. Now I want to put a b18c in it. Since I had the b18b already in it, can I re-use the axles, motor mounts, etc? What can I re use, and what do I have to get to do this?
     
  2. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    If you're new the best thing would be to spend at least five hours searching. No one wants to have to spoon feed you the basics, it can all be easily found on this site.

    If you're lucky though someone might spoon feed you...
     
  3. b18govroom

    b18govroom New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Well no, I don't want to be spoonfed, I like finding the information myself, but I've been on here the last 3 days, and I guess I'm just missing the posts or something, but I'm having trouble finding it.
     
  4. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Youll need the corresponding ECU for the motor and will have to add a couple wires for VTEC, thats it.. The mounts, axles, shift linkage, etc, will all work on the new motor. Your welcome.
     
  5. b18govroom

    b18govroom New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Thank you. I like to figure things out, but this has been stressing the shit out of me- looking forever and not finding anything. I've seen every post on the internet (obviously exagerating) about putting a brand new everything, but not if I can re use anything. I really appreciate it.
     
  6. JDMB20Coupe

    JDMB20Coupe Powerd With 1 Cam

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Chester, VA
    maybe the next new kid will be able to find this one. lol
     
  7. austin20110

    austin20110 New Member

    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Va
    the axles should still work but check them before you put them back on dont want to put shit back on your car lol but yea axles will work motor mounts will still work the ecu if im not mistaken should still work if not it would be a easy fix they are the same trim motor right? correct me if im wrong guys lol
     
  8. ltrlunatik

    ltrlunatik New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Everything will bolt right back up...U can use the same ECU as long as its same obd status as the car, BUT you won't have vtec and youll have some cel's. Get a gsr ecu, and find somebody to wire in vtec for you and everything else will bolt up the exact same.
     
  9. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,482
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    DO NOT listen to these two pieces of advice (if you can call them that).
    You never want to run the improper ECU with the engine.

    Example: B18c1 - High compression, DOHC VTEC - has completely different maps than a b18b1 which is lower compression, DOHC non-VTEC.
     
  10. ltrlunatik

    ltrlunatik New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    If its Obd1 you can chip the ECU...You can easily chip a P75 ecu to run a GSR. You can even chip a P06 Ecu to run a GSR if you want. They just have to chip the ecu for Vtec also. People just normally always chip P28's because vtec is already wired into the ecu so it'll save you time and money.
     
  11. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,482
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    And doesn't everyone want to do that?

    Start with the correct ECU for the engine.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page