1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

remote reboot?

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by pissedoffsol, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    Anyone know how to remote reboot a machine?

    my work pc locked up on me, and now i can't remote desktop to it....

    is there anyway to reboot the machine, given i have the IP and admin rights on the network?
     
  2. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    use the shutdown command from the DC.
     
  3. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    call someone to restart it for you. thats what i had to do everytime my laptop did that shit.

    "Grama, unplug the cord in the office. K, now turn it over and pull out the battery. Count to 5 and put it back. Press the power button. THANKS"
     
  4. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    Not a windows machine, if rdesktop is hung, that probably means the GUI is hung and because MS packed it into the kernel, you are hosed.

    Otherwise it is as simple as
    ssh root@machine reboot
     
  5. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    from a command prompt type shutdown -r -m \\PC Name

    If you do it that way, that will pop up a warning on the PC that says warning this is shutting down and wait 30 seconds... If you add -t 05 it will only wait 5 seconds. You also need to make sure that your security options under the local policies for Network Access: Sharing & Security Model is set to Classic, and not guest.
     
  6. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
  7. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    yeah his computer was just frozen for a few.
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    turned out to be our network that hung... go figure
     
  9. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    somebody clog your tubes? :ph34r:
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2007
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page