1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

removing the intake mani?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by MthaFuknGreen, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    so i need to replace the main gasket on the intake manifold, the one between the block and the manifold.
    how do i go about removing the intake manifold?
    i plan on doing this tomorrow, so quick replies would be helpful.
     
  2. cjvictoria

    cjvictoria New Member

    Messages:
    2,525
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Location:
    N. Chuck, SC
    get some tools and go to town fucker lol
     
  3. austin20110

    austin20110 New Member

    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Va
    putty knife, and scotch bright... make sure you blow out the ports after your done... would hate to suck that shit into your engine
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    :werd: .. just unbolt it.. unhook any sensors, vacuum lines(remember what goes where), unbolt outward->in

    when bolting it back on, start ont he inside and tighen outward
     
  5. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    i marked the hoses and where they go with different color paint pens.
    putty knife and scotch bright?
    huh?
     
  6. austin20110

    austin20110 New Member

    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Va
    to take off the old gasket
     
  7. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
  8. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    the upper nuts were easy as fuck to get off, its the lower ones im having troubles with..
    if i remove the oil filter to make room so i can reach the nuts better, wont hella oil leak out?
     
  9. austin20110

    austin20110 New Member

    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Va

    maybe like a quart or so
     
  10. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    you dont need to remove the oil filter.. just need a swivel extension
     
  11. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    i dont have a universal joint.
    the job was easier than i thought it would be.
    i took the top part of the manifold and the fuel rail and shit which made getting to the top nuts much easier.
    2 of the three gaskets were fucked, the two largest ones. i didnt check the smaller one cuz i dont have that one to replace anyway.

    my car definitely runs a lot smoother, but i can only get it to idle at like 1500 without dying.
    whenever it goes below 1000, it sounds like its gonna die.
    i adjusted the idle and the fast idle thermo valve. it idles steady, but still idles lower when in drive then when in park.
    what should i do next?
     
  12. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    I think it's supposed to idle slightly lower in drive than park. but it shouldn't be at 1500. Maybe 700-900. Sounds like you may have a vacuum leak.
     
  13. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    well, when i turn down the idle or tighten the FITV all the way, it idles closer to 700, but then it just dies.
     
  14. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    so i checked the ecu codes, 7 and 8 popped up which is throttle angle and tdc position.
    whats that mean?
     
  15. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    It means that your throttle position isn't calibrated and your ignition timing is off. How are you "turning down the idle"?
     
  16. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
  17. HATCHET_HONDA

    HATCHET_HONDA scottie fizzle

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Location:
    hobart, indiana
    2 of 3 gaskets??? smaller one? whaaaa???
     
  18. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    fucking with the idle screw and the FITV.
    [​IMG]
    thats the third gasket that i was talking about.
     
  19. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    I'm fairly certain you're supposed to unplug the throttle position sensor before adjusting the idle speed.
     
  20. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    it was already unplugged.

    where is the system checker harness?
    i cant find it, im looking right next to the ecu.
    is it plugged into something?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page