Ring install tool

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

cheese9988

VIP
I have been looking for tools for when I put in my new pistons. I see at Sears that they offer a round looking tool to put them in, I havn't looked into how exactly they look. The car manuals suggest a pliers looking version and go into more detail. Anybody with experience have any input on these? :)

Install your rings in the correct order,
49.29b16.18b_4Epistonhammer.jpg

Gap them if necessary,
Get a ring compressor that fits your piston,
Apply a little assembly lube to the sides of the piston
Put piston in ring compressor,
49.29a16.18a_4Eringcompressor.jpg

Tighten compressor til rings are compressed,
Use a rubber mallet to push the piston out of the ring compressor into the cylinder.
49.29b16.18b_4Epistonhammer.jpg

I'd look into the ring gapping and shit more, I'm no pro.

yeah it is pretty easy. Just get rings for your application. if you need to gap them you can use a band (sp) saw or something. the compressor is definitely a good tool to have.

Quoted post[/post]]
yeah it is pretty easy. Just get rings for your application. if you need to gap them you can use a band (sp) saw or something. the compressor is definitely a good tool to have.

NO BAND SAW. hell no
1) take the ring insert into cylinder nice and level, then check the gap with a feller gage.
2) repeat 1 at a couple diffrent points
3) if you need to increase the gap, use a fine double side file, then open the ring up and slide it up and down on the file.
4)after filing take the burs off the new edge with a light stroke of the file towards the inside or the ring gap, once in both directions on each side.
5)recheck the gap and repeat

We totally used a band saw when we did the LT1...some kind of table saw n e way. oh well...his car is running great. Daily N20 and hasnt blown a ring.

might have been. The dude who own the camaro own a engine building shop out here. totally possible.