1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running rich, idles bad, sputters - Dyno graph

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by BigBoy, Jun 2, 2005.

  1. BigBoy

    BigBoy Senior Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    cali 818
    Just bought a new ef hatch with a b16. The car idles at 2000 and doesnt go down until i start driving, then it gets down to about 1000. Is this normal?

    Also, i hit vtec at 4400 because of the mugen chip and when it hits, the car pops back a little and i definitly feel a loss of power. Also, when im driving around 70-75 mph and ease off the pedal a little bit, the car sputters breifly. But that only happens once in a while.

    My question is, will most of these problems go away by converting to obd1 w/stock ecu and tuning? Or maybe adjust the fuel pressure?

    Its got i/h/e/cams.

    Here is the engine mgmt:

    1) PR3 OBD0 5 speed ECU
    2) Mugen fully re-mapped ECU chip
    3) No rev limit
    4) Disabled governor
    5) Disabled both O2 sensors, oil pressure, and knock sensor
    6) No check-engine light

    And heres the dyno
    [​IMG]
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    What are talking about a loss of power hitting 160whp in a 160bhp motor?
     
  3. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    :lol:
    .. but VTEC@4400 is early, i tried that in my b16 coupe, and i also had a power loss when it hit, and then around 5800 rpms it started to pick up fast as hell.
    I would go the obd1 + new chip like you said.
    Also, i have that 'sputter' problem as you do, when i let off the gas and i am right at my VTEC point or a lil over, it sputters, i think it's the chip trying to dump more fuel into the engine ofr VTEC, but you arent asking for any more.
    I really just want the stock p30 chip :unsure:
    Yea, and really, how teh fuck do you get 160whp from a b16 with bolt ons and complain?! That is pretty damn good numbers for I/H/E/Cams.
    What I/H/E/Cams do you have?
     
  4. BigBoy

    BigBoy Senior Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    cali 818


    Yea i think ill go with a obd1 conversion. I hate going in and out of vtec at highspeed. Im pretty happy with the results so far. Its got a generic brand 2.5 intake, jdm 4-1 header, custom 2.5 inch catback, and skunk2 stage 2 cams and springs.
     
  5. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    is it a real mugen chip?
    or a "mugen" egay chip?

    no rev limiter = stupid
    no govenor = stupid

    disabled o2's... why?

    and thanks for posting up the dyno sheet...
    nice power for a b16
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    the problem is the mugen chip. get uberdata and go tune.

    your a/f's are wack
     
  7. BigBoy

    BigBoy Senior Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    cali 818


    yea i think its the egay chip. I might just go vafc and tune for now.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page