1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Simple question...

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by NightRyder, Aug 15, 2006.

  1. NightRyder

    NightRyder New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Hey everyone,

    I have a 95 civic with a b16 VTEC motor that came out of a 95 Del Sol VTEC. I am currently running a stock p28 ecu, is this the correct ecu for my application. I read online that the stock p28 is for the Del Sol Si which only has about 125 hp and the Del Sol VTEC has 160.

    1. Should I be running a different ecu other than the stock p28?
    2. Does the stock p28 also work for the Del Sol VTEC?

    Thanks for your help in advance...
     
  2. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    Either....
    1) Socket that p28 that you have, and get someone to burn a stock p30 map for you to put in the p28.
    2) Socket the p28, and have someone tune a custom map for you based on a p30 basemap.
    3) Buy a stock p30 ecu.

    The p30 is the right ecu for your application. The p28 will run the car too lean.
     
  3. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Socket the p28, and I'll burn you a p30 chip for it. ($10 shipped)
    Finding a p30 (the right ecu) is somewhat rare.
    A stock p30 or a chipped p28+p30 chip will run your the correct way.
    A stock p28 will not.
     
  4. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    there ya go, problem solved.
     
  5. NightRyder

    NightRyder New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Thanks guys...appreciate it.
     
  6. NightRyder

    NightRyder New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Also, what does it mean to "socket" my p28?

    I have another "performance" chip for my p28, i think its the Mugen program but it runs way too rich. I can swap in and out different programmed chips into my p28 already. Is this what you mean by having my p28 socketed? Is the purpose of having it socketed so I can swap in/out different chips?

    Thanks and sorry for my stupidity...
     
  7. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Yup, that means yours has been socketed already.

    You might want to track down the person who did the socketing, and ask them if the "stock" chip that is in it is running the p30 program.
     
  8. NightRyder

    NightRyder New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Thanks again...

    The main reason I am asking and having to deal with this is because I am trying to get my car smogged. I am currently running a p08 because I was told that it would make my engine run cleaner to pass smog since the ecu is for a smaller engine.

    Wouldnt that just throw everything off if the ecu is not for my application? Or is it true what I was told? I tried getting it smogged with the p08 but failed horribly, even with a new cat. Could this be the reason why I am failing...because the ecu im running is not for my car? Or would it more likely be something like I need a new o2 sensor?

    Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated... :huh:
     
  9. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    I wouldn't try to pass smog with a non-correct ECU. Try to track down a p30 or a p30 chip, make sure you aren't throwing any CELs, do a tune up and check your timing. Should pass with flying colors.
     
  10. NightRyder

    NightRyder New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Ok cool, does it matter which o2 sensor I get? I was just going to get one for a 95 del sol. Do i specifically need to get one for the DOHC Del Sol, or should I just be able to run one for a 95 Del Sol; the reason im askin is because i am unsure if they have to match up specifically or not.
     
  11. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    All obd1 o2 sensors are the same as far as I know.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page