1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

slow b16 in a crx

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by TITO.CIVIC, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. TITO.CIVIC

    TITO.CIVIC New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    yes my b16 is acting wrong i dont know y but some one toldo me that probabli is that i have the stock exhaus muffler and fuel pump it feels like if i have lot of weght in the car. can some one help me with this? thanks
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009
  2. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    got a check engine light?
    Anything that can help identify this better?
     
  3. TITO.CIVIC

    TITO.CIVIC New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    yes the check engine light is on but dont know y or how to check it.
     
  4. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    if your running obd1 you have to use a jumper. which you then use the check engine light for counting flashes
    if you are running obd0 turn the key to the on position, dont start it. pull the carpet off the ecu on the passenger side and count the flashes on the ecu.

    this is a posting for OBD1 with visual reference
    The new cel thread (how-to & codes) - Honda-Tech
    and one on OBD0 and OBD1
    http://hondaswap.com/reference-materials/88-ecu-error-codes-29109/

    pull those codes then post them up

    theres a good chance you swapped map and tps i dont know how many times i've seen it done.
     
  5. ls/vtechatch91

    ls/vtechatch91 New Member

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    washington
    b16s r slow anyways lol... but ya if its converted to obd1with a jumper harness already in ur crx then u turn it to the on position an it flashes dont need a jumper wire
     
  6. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    ummmmm... no

    if its already jumped then the CEL WOULD BE FLASHING THE CODES WHEN ITS RUNNING, I know this because I have left it jumped and and drove my car around with a CEL.

    Any engine can be slow if you have things not running right. Especially if it doesn't read the TPS or MAP sensors, and likely be kicked into a limp mode if it even runs at all.
     
  7. ls/vtechatch91

    ls/vtechatch91 New Member

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    washington
    ok so then explain this to me then i converted my 90 si to obd1 an if im throwing a code all i gotta do is turn it to the on position an it flashes the code for me... no jumper wire needed there is not a place for the jumper wire like the obd1 cars.... so what im tryin to say that if his is converted to obd1 like i said earlier then there would be no need for a jumper wire or to check the flashing red dot on the ecu if it was obd0............. an yes i understand any motor can be slow if theres problems with it..... in my opinion b16s r slow either way...
     
  8. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    depends on the conversion then.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page