1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

smoking turbo?

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by blainet, Jul 18, 2006.

  1. blainet

    blainet Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    I have a bran new T3 T4 hybrid i have about 25-30lbs of oil pressure at idle anything above 2 grand and i have 75 psi or so anywaz my turbo blows mad smoke whenver i rev it above like 2 grand i have a new JDM motor from japan to i cant figure out if i have to much oil pressure or if i have to much crank case pressure which is making it hard for the oil to return? im really stuck here and no one seems to know anything about turbos where im from
     
  2. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    if you have a JDM engine, its gonna be from japan. The engine type might be helpful in most cases (not this one, however).

    If your turbo is blowing smoke your probably running too rich. That being the case, i take it, you didnt have your ecu tuned, and you just used a 12:1 FMU or a Secondary set of injectors. Both of which like to cause that little problem.
     
  3. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    Check the specs for your turbo on the manufacturers site. Some turbos need a restrictor in the feed line to keep pressure under 45.
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    at idle, when warm, 10-20 psi is normal. what weight oil are you using?
     
  5. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    is there any chance your oil return line leaks?
    have you pulled off some charge tubes? is there oil in the intake? intercooler? tubes?
     
  6. blainet

    blainet Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    there is oil in the charge pipe just a little but check this out ive had 4 different turbos on it its a new JDM motor.... could it have to high of compression i went out and drove it and it was making littel boost like 3 lbs but i never took it past like 4 and past half throttle ... I might have to much oil pressure but I put a 3/16 fitting in the line to restrict flow but wouldnt that make less volume and more oil pressure .... theres no race shops around here or id figure it out but it smokes out the exhaust side hella bad and oil sprays everywhere......
     
  7. blainet

    blainet Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    ohh and it doesnt leak at all the only thing i could think of is vacum lines not right or crankcase pressure to high and there is no leaks anywhere
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    if theirs oil in your charge pipe, the turbo is shot. the center section seals are leaking.

    -3an is standard fitting size (3/16 is the same size) and should be fine. i'd go with an entire -3 line, instead of the restrictor though.

    where is your feed sourced from?

    i'm going to point fingers at your retun line. if it can't get rid of it, it has no where to go but sit there and ruin seals.

    size?
    location tapped in pan?
    angle into pan?

    pics?
     
  9. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    are you still running a PCV valve? or you have a filter to atmosphere?
     
  10. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    I'm still running the PCV valve on the Accord, no smoking.
     
  11. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    yea, that doesn't really make sense lol

    i was just thinking if the PCV was allowing the crankcase to be pressurized , but it would still only be 3 or 4 lbs like he posted above, and 3-4lbs isn't gonna hold back 30 lbs of oil pressure
     
  12. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    On my Toyota, with the PCV hooked up to the TB still it made a smokescreen during boost. I wasnt sure what the Honda was going to do, but it didnt smoke to my surprise.

    Pull it out and check it, you should only be able to breath thru it one way.
     
  13. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    pcv valves work on vacuum. the second you break vacuum and head into boost territory, the pcv valve is rendered useless.
    i'd suggest getting a catch can asap.

    oil in the air = detonation.
    detonation = boom
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page