some guidance please b16

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

totally new with this whole thing so bare with me... i searched about 20 pages into the teq pages and i still couldnt find the answers i was looking for... mind you, im a noob in the forum realm. my hatch is only a tuner car... i traded my 01 prelude for a 03 lex IS300... so i have the ability to let the car sit for a while, i know a few things about hondas but never got too into the swap world i already had an h22

ok so i bought a 90 si hatch from some hick and he swapped a sohc zc motor into it, i decided to bottle feed it till i can get some $$$$ together,... i was looking for some input on what to do. my options are... build the sohc zc as much i need to, so that i can boost it... i figured i can get some decent power out of the motor and i have a disposable motor so i would have easy access to parts and help.... on the other hand we have the all to popular b16 swap 88-91 sir... which i dont know much about, some questions i had about the swap are... will it drop right in? what kind of modifications will i need as far as motor mounts, axels, etc... how strong of a motor is the b16... as far as building it... is it better to go NA, boost, or just bottle feed it some more? any help i can get would be awesome.

yes the b16 will drop right in, however you need a few things to go with it.motor mounts for this specific swap.you will also need to notch the frame for the alternator clearence"trust me you will pay later if its not dented enough,i am right now"plus new axles shift linkage,ecu,and yes the b16 is a pretty durable motor.
i think it could almost be called bullet proof.

:werd: the b16 swap is REALLY easy. I did it by myself with a little help from a friend. Do a search, you should be able to find one of the millions of threads about what the b16 swap entails.