1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stroking B16B

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Escabar, Oct 22, 2007.

  1. Escabar

    Escabar New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Hi there guys,
    My engine knocked this weekend and so I am left with the option of fixing the bottom end because I can't quite wait for the B20 engine to get here right now. Therefore, I was wondering if I could put a B18B LS crank and rods from eagle in the B16B. Don't forget, the B16B is the CTR block and is the identical block to the B18C1 GSR and the B18C5 TYPE-R. Would I be able to swap out the crank and rods without any clearance issues? I am exploring the B18B crank as opposed to the B18C5 because as you guys would know, the B18B engine has a longer stroke at 85mm than that of the B18C5 or B18C1, resulting in a true displacement of 1834cc as opposed to 1795cc. Your input and help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    The deck height on the ls is different from the gsr or type r. Sorry I don't think it will work.

    How about using the GSR stuff if its the same? Or why not just put some new bearings in the CTR block if it didn't spin the bearing completely yet? Might be able to save the crank with some micropolishing and new bearings plastigauged. Also why not just get a complete LS block and put some PR3 pistons in it.
     
  3. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Huh? Deck height between the LS and GSR/R should be the same. You can put LS cranks into GSR blocks and run standard geometry components without any problems.
     
  4. Hasid Lafre

    Hasid Lafre Master of the obvious

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    So say a b18b head on a b16 block is possable?
     
  5. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Why the hell would you want to do that??? You'd be eliminating the best part of both motors!

    :slap:
     
  6. Hasid Lafre

    Hasid Lafre Master of the obvious

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Did I say I would want to do that?
     
  7. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Then what's the point of asking? The answer doesn't matter...
     
  8. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Ok.

    But to my knowledge the B16A, B17A have the same deck height. The B16B, B18C have the same deck height and B18A, B18B, B20 blocks have the same deck height.

    B16A, B17A are 203.25mm
    B18C etc are 212.39mm
    b18b etc are 211.84mm

    So if you put a b18b crank and rods in a B16B or b18c it would effectively reduce your compression ratio. Doesn't sound like something I would want for all motor.
     
  9. Hasid Lafre

    Hasid Lafre Master of the obvious

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    I was just cureious if it would work or not.
     
  10. Escabar

    Escabar New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    This is for a turbo build. Also, if I plan to achieve 400whp, will I definitely need to upgrade my brakes, or will I be able to change the brake pads and brake lines to achieve the necessary stopping power?
     
  11. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    You don't necessarily need to upgrade the calipers and rotors, but what kind of car are you driving (I didn't see it mentioned anywhere). You might be able to build a big brake kit using stock Honda parts depending on what you're driving. But a good set of high performance pads & rotors should be enough. When I had my Integra I did a couple track days with stock rotors and Hawk HP+ pads and I had more than enough stopping power with no brake fade..
     
  12. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
  13. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    I'm not quite sure if it would work or not, but regardless, it would be a retarded motor to build. You'd be sacrificing the LS's torque and the B16's higher RPM power (courtesy of V-TAK!!!!11). You'd end up with something like a DOHC ZC; it would be utterly pointless in my opinion...
     
  14. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Yes pointless but possible. Why even mention it ???one???!!!??11
     
  15. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    I didn't bring it up, the other guy did. I asked him the same thing.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page