1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tachometer wrong readings?

Discussion in 'Car Audio / Security / Electronic Accessories' started by hondakidd1, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. hondakidd1

    hondakidd1 HONDA 4 LIFE

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Chatsworth, ON, CaNaDa
    i just recently hooked up my aftermarket tach to the main dizzy, and i hooked it up with the battery and everything but i dont think its getting accurate readings (i dont think). wehn i start up the car and everything, and i rev it, the engine sounds like its redlining at about 4000 rpms? or thats what the tach says... it idles in between 0 and 1000, im not sure about this.

    Its a 1995 honda civic with a swapped acura integra B18B1
     
  2. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Did you make sure the the tachometer is set for "4 cylinder"?
     
  3. hondakidd1

    hondakidd1 HONDA 4 LIFE

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Chatsworth, ON, CaNaDa
    how do i do that?
     
  4. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    Make sure the two small wires that are looped together sticking out are cut and taped up..
     
  5. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,015
    Likes Received:
    3,943
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  6. Korax

    Korax New Member

    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Location:
    Western PA
    :withstupid:hahaha.

    Plus, you didn't need to do either of those. Maybe in an EG its easier to hook it up to the dizzy but your cluster should be wired for a tach even if it doesnt have one stock. You can splice it into that wire. Second, you shouldn't hook it straight up to your battery.. it will be drawing power even when the car is off...
     
  7. hondakidd1

    hondakidd1 HONDA 4 LIFE

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Chatsworth, ON, CaNaDa
    nah its nothing fancy doesnt even light up
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page