1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tack, Need Help

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by 22crazy, Feb 23, 2003.

  1. 22crazy

    22crazy Senior Member

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    whats up i was just wondering how i hook up a tack....does it connect to the computer or something. like do u hook up wires to anything....if so if the signal like by pulse...analog, digital, voltage? thanx.
     
  2. BigJ

    BigJ I'm just about that action Boss. VIP

    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    408
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Location:
    Washington
    I believe the tachometer connects to a wire near the distributor or coming off of it but I am not for sure. When we put a monster in my buddies just tapped into a distributor wire but I could be wrong. Someone correct meh if I am wrong.
     
  3. saturn_boy96

    saturn_boy96 88 C1V1C 53D4N DR1V3R

    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Sheridan, WY
    i hooked mine up to the blue wire near the firewall on the drivers side. but when i put in a stock guage cluster from an ex that already had the tach, i pulled out the aftermarket one. and one of them had to be wrong cause with my old guages the tach said i was revving to about 2100 rpm to go 30mph and with the stock tach it says i am revving a little over 1900 rpm to go 30mph. i don't know which is right but they both "worked". <_<
     
  4. sirkurtius

    sirkurtius Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Location:
    toronto canada
    there should be four wires off your new tack.
    1 for power
    1 for ground
    1 for signal
    1 for lighting
    there should be a blue wire coming from your distributor so hook up there for the signal
     
  5. seerx

    seerx Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    wires / color
    pos. / red
    neg. / black
    illumination / white
    tach signal / green
    loop wires/ i forget the colors but for a 4 cylnder u ussually have to cut both or the tach will be off the actuall rpm.if it way off then connect the (brown i think)wire back up. a crx si u have to tap the tach signal into the harness behind the tach in the cluster.i forgot the color(again)but it is the 2nd wire from the left when u r sitting in the car.for a 92-95 civic u go behind the cluster and look for a blue wire with silver dots.some dont have the silver dots. look in ur manul for the wire for other cars.or (this is kind risky)but take a test light and hook it up to a positive wire and than start up ur car.test the wires in the back of ur cluster when the wire barely lights up(by this time u must have the other 3 wires hooked up to ur new tach.) take the green wire and touch it to the wire that made ur test light light up.do it till ur tach works.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page