1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tech question

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by cheese9988, Jun 6, 2004.

  1. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    I don't know if anybody here would know this or not. The speed sensor going to the ecu, does the ecu use this just as a reference so it knows when to cut the fuel off (govenor), or does it serve another purpose? ie to know vehicle speed for some other purpose.
     
  2. lsvteccrx

    lsvteccrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Location:
    new york
    it also tells your vtec to only work when the car is moving(if you have vtec) and i think thats it :spin:
     
  3. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Cool, its a zc so that helps me :D
     
  4. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,152
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    If it isn't hooked up right your speedo won't work.
     
  5. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Well the spedometer itself is cable driven....but the speed sensor, that just goes to the ecu to tell it how fast its going...right?
     
  6. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,152
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    My speedsensor connections were soaked in oil and my speedo didn't work. I cleaned them and my speedo worked. I am not sure why because it does have the cable drive.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page