1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

top speed

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by gottagetfaster, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. gottagetfaster

    gottagetfaster Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    Tha Jungle
    I have a 97 accord lx. 4 cly 5spd. and i am having problems with my top speed i just got it and i have only changed the intake and muffler. I cant go over 115mph. I had a speed sensor problem once and i was able to go over 115. I was wondering what can i do about this. I was told it was my ecu. and i was also told to keep changing things on my car and eventually it would go over. When i hit 115 it knocks me down like a govern but it only knocks me down to about 113. Could some one please help me on this? thanks!
     
  2. MaaseyRacer

    MaaseyRacer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    Yeahit is called the speed governer. It is quite similar to the rev limiter except it controlls your speed. If you want to remove it you can do a few things, chip your ECU (which is highly unrecommended), get hondata which I am not sure will even work with you car, or get some other sort of ecu altering software. Shit you could even swap in another motor and it will probably have a higher speed limit.
     
  3. allbottledup

    allbottledup Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Galloway, NJ
    The cheapest way to get rid of it. Pull the plug off of the speed sensor. It will give you a CEL for a bad speen sensor but your govenor is gone. The computer cant get a reading so you can go as fast as your redline in 5th.
     
  4. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    Chipping the ECU can be effective, particularly for things like accords that hondata doesn't natively support. Masseyracer chooses to not think for himself and he drank the hondata coolaid, so...

    I believe HKS and maybe another JDM company make a device that specifically disables the speed limiter without causing a check engine light. You can also find plans for such a device on PGMFI.org / sourceforge.net/projects/pgmfi/ if you are electronically inclined.
     
  5. gottagetfaster

    gottagetfaster Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    Tha Jungle
    okay so i guess i will be chipping the ecu i will let you all know the turn out once i get it completed. Thanks for the info
     
  6. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    I just saw you are OBD2. You'll have to convert to OBD1 to run a chipped ECU. You'd almost be better off finding a European version of the ECU you have because they did not receive speed limiters.
     
  7. MaaseyRacer

    MaaseyRacer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.

    Read what I wrote you jackass, you fucking took the time to read what I wrote you will see exactly what I wrote. Here I will quote my self for you.

    Now please I am sick of people jumping on my case with out reading. :angry:
     
  8. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    why would you want to go faster than 115 in an accord anyways? j/k :)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page