1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

trouble code 5,7...b16 crx si

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by wickedplastikman, Nov 18, 2003.

  1. wickedplastikman

    wickedplastikman Senior Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    chicagp
    i just finally finished my first swap.......or so i thought. it was the b16 into a 91 crx si. the car runs extremely rough. checked the ecu and i am throwing codes 5 and 7. code 5 is map sensor. i havent checked the ignition timing or cam timing yet because i am fairly confident that i have my vacuum lines all screwed up.

    so my question is, can somebody take some pictures of their vacuum lines and where they run to and post a link for me?

    as far as the code 7, i am going to replace the sensor since i took it off the stock si motor and just hope that it just wasnt the same piece. any help would be extremely appreciated.
     
  2. wickedplastikman

    wickedplastikman Senior Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    chicagp
    can't anybody help me?
     
  3. Bl6CRX

    Bl6CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Location:
    UCLA
    you sure you don't got the wires switched...haha thats what we did with my buddies civic durning his swap, damn thing ran soo funny, you'd step on the gas and it would die out, haha we pulled over, flipped em and it twas all good
     
  4. wickedplastikman

    wickedplastikman Senior Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    chicagp
    no. i made sure that all the electrical was ok. then i double checked that. i'm going to get a new map sensor and throttle position sensor and just hope it is that simple...if not, i'll be doing some more trouble shooting.
     
  5. CRXSIR1

    CRXSIR1 Junior Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Location:
    Rockford,IL.
  6. wickedplastikman

    wickedplastikman Senior Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    chicagp
    ok. i rerouted all the vacuum lines and fixed the code 5 problem, but i am still throwing the code 7. the engine is still running sluggish. it seems like it is getting more air that fuel, and it backfires occasionally in the intake.

    anybody got any ideas?
     
  7. MXDesa

    MXDesa Senior Member

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Location:
    Queens, New York
    Go ahead with your idea of changing the TPS. If the TPS is actually bad the car will run like complete shit because your motors ECU doesn't know if your at wide open or fully closed. I would definately change it.
     
  8. wickedplastikman

    wickedplastikman Senior Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    chicagp
    that makes sense! i guess i didnt realize how important that piece was!
     
  9. mikesphat

    mikesphat Senior Member

    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    did ya switch the wires on the tps? the two outer wires must be changed around. if not the ecu will think your at wot when your at idle and vice versa.but if ya want a tps i have one ill give ya cheap.
     
  10. wickedplastikman

    wickedplastikman Senior Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    chicagp
    i never switched the wires. i never even heard of switching around any wires. do you know of any instructions on what to do? if this doesnt work, i will be interested in buying the tps from you.

    thanks
     
  11. mikesphat

    mikesphat Senior Member

    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    damn i just realized that you have an si. i dont think there are any switching of the wires cause you already had mpfi. but its a maybe...switch the green white/ yellow white wires around. see if that fixes it. if not make me an offer on my extra one.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page