1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vtec and Oil

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Accordturbo94, Oct 16, 2003.

  1. Accordturbo94

    Accordturbo94 Senior Member

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Hey guys ive tryed posting this before and got no answer! I did my swap and added a vtec controller if this will effect anything! I get my CEL light right away when i start my car! Its tells me vtec oil psi switch! Well I went to my helms manual and it says check the switch itself.. and so i did.. i even changed it with my stock f22's and it still came on! I than checked for voltage... i put the meter ends on the connecter one in each hole of the connector... i get the 13 volts!!! So there cant be a bad connection! What gives!
     
  2. Accordturbo94

    Accordturbo94 Senior Member

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    As for the vtec controller its the v-afc and I never have tryed the car with out the controller so im assuming it didnt work as soon as i swapped in the motor!
     
  3. Accordturbo94

    Accordturbo94 Senior Member

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    I just checked on apexi's website.. and there is no way I would have messed up the vtec oil prs. switch adding it! There are no wires you need to connect to the psi lines just the vtec solenoid
     
  4. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    Why not try running without the VAFC and see what happens?
     
  5. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    Who and how were the connections made on the VAFC. I have fixed many of these very problems, all steming from the installation of the VAFC.

    I would try removing it for a little while and see if that fixes your problem.
     
  6. Accordturbo94

    Accordturbo94 Senior Member

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    You know I was thinking that! But it would have no effect! I looked on apexi's website like I said... and nothing would have been crossed! Any the v-afc functions properly! Its just hard to believe im getting voltage from the harness to the psi gauge but its off! And I couldnt have flucked it up when I installed the motor cause it comes stock with vtec!
     
  7. Accordturbo94

    Accordturbo94 Senior Member

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    But hey get this...... I dont know whats going on here but when i turn the key on my cooling fan comes on right away! and when i disconnect the Oil psi switch it turns off... and vs versus when I plug it back in!! Now I know the accord has basically all the same switched for the cooling switched and the one in the front is not plugged it! Its ushually on the top radiator hose that goes into the motor! The jdm prelude does not have one! But I do have the one connected in at the back of the motor where the thermostate is!

    This is confusing but I thought it would be better to make the apparent... maybe to help solve my problem!

    To make things more confusing I only have one fan on my radiator... it should have two but when i did my turbo i took one off! Unfortently Im not sure if the fan use to come on right away before! But I dont think it did... but im not ++
     
  8. Accordturbo94

    Accordturbo94 Senior Member

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Since I dont see anyone responding.. I shall say this and see if any one notices!

    I HAVE A HUGE PENIS. :worthy:
     
  9. h22poweredgsr

    h22poweredgsr Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    man ur sick, anyways is ur engine jdm?? ther was a post somehwere around here that said that the jdm engine dont have vtec solenoid pressure switches or sumthing and that sets off a code. u gotta use a usdm solenoid
     
  10. Accordturbo94

    Accordturbo94 Senior Member

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Well your the first to respond to that! lol! yeah ive tryed the one ony my f22 and thats didnt help!
     
  11. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    your fan is not getting a signal, so it spins. If you plugged it in to a switch, then it would go off I believe. I used the waterneck from my accord, and the original switch that was in there. Ten minute job.

    I'm with the other guys, I'd take out the VAFC, and try it.
     
  12. mustangmike1965

    mustangmike1965 Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    it sounds like you have the plugs for your oil press switch and your cooling fan relay switch crossed. they have the same plug. the oil press. switch should be green on both sides (the switch and the plug) and the cooling fan relay switch should be gray on both sides. theycould be different colors on the jdm motor, i cant remember it has been a while since ive done that swap. this is most likely your problem though.
     
  13. Accordturbo94

    Accordturbo94 Senior Member

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Yeah Im an idiot! I found out the VTM wire that i was suppost to splice into was really the oil psi! So now i have to figure out if i have a VTM signal or what ever you want to call it! thanks and sorry guys
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page