1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vtec Solenoid Troubles

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by RandomTask76, May 19, 2003.

  1. RandomTask76

    RandomTask76 Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    I just swapped a second gen b16a into my buddy's 93 hatch cx. It's throwing a code 21 (VTEC solenoid valve circuit). I've already verified continuity b/w the ecu pin D6 and body ground and b/w the VTEC solenoid harness connector and ecu pin A4. I've verified that there's no continuity b/w the VTEC solenoid harness connector and ground. I checked continuity b/w the VTEC solenoid valve connector and body ground (should be 14 to 30 ohms), and there was none, which would signify a bad VTEC solenoid. So i put my VTEC solenoid off of my car (which i know is good), and it still threw the code (though I didn't check continuity b/w the VTEC solenoid connector and body ground). Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    1st, did you reset the ECU via the fuse box under the hood? (7.5 plug) You shouldn't have to do anything with ECU pin D6, that is for the oil pressure switch. It's either A.) Bad connection, or B.) short/fuckup in the wire going from the VTEC solenoid to the A4 pin.
     
  3. RandomTask76

    RandomTask76 Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    I don't think I did reset the ecu (I had reset just before i changed it i believe), so I'll try that. Also, the reason I think it's not the solenoid is because I took the solenoid off of his car and tried it on mine and it worked just fine. If all else fails I'll just run a completely new wire for it and go from there. Thanks for the reply AFIpunk, I'm "very proud of ya."
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Yea,you have to reset the ECU after any work,when you are trying to clear a CEL.Just pull the ECU fuse out of the underhood relay for about ten seconds.
     
  5. RandomTask76

    RandomTask76 Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Well i got it fixed, it ended up being a loose ecu pin (A4) that i clamped down for a snug fit, and no more check engine light. It feels alot nicer with VTEC. Thanks for the advice.
     
  6. B onesixEF

    B onesixEF New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    my vtec is doing the same thing though the check engine comes on whenever the connection is bad but it is loose but whenever the light is off the vtec still doesnt work im currently running a t tap that runs it all the time help me
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page