1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vtec sputter/ won't crossover

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by sean082, Jul 13, 2009.

  1. sean082

    sean082 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    I need help. My vtec wont engage. I have a gsr turbo. Motor ran fine was fully tuned. I did a head gasket, valve train, and blox tuner b cams. My car was on the dyno low lobe tuned fine. once they tried to tune high lobe, the car acted like it was hitting a rev limiter and would not go into vtec. It just cut out and sputtered like crazy! We changed the diz and vtec sylnd. Neither helped. timimg in dead on. oil level in good. map sensor is fine. We thought it was a wiring issue, we we engaged vtec maunally and it did the same thing. Has anyone ran into this before? I remove the valve cover and itr didnt seem oil deprived anywhere. We forced air into the sylnd and pluged the hole inside the head, the rocker arms engaged and locked together. Oil pressure seems fine... dont have a guage though. Any ideas??
     
  2. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Sounds like it could be starving for gas? You didn't mention anything about the fuel delivery system
     
  3. sean082

    sean082 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    The AFR's didn't do anything wierd. it stayed ok on the wideband...
     
  4. sean082

    sean082 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    we didnt try to accelerate through it or anything. it sounds like its bouncing off the rev limiter but very very fast. we tried higher and lower rpm to engage vtec, did the same thing wether it was at 7k or 4k..
     
  5. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    have you checked the solenoid screen to see if it was clogged up?
     
  6. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    AFR is good? Or just isn't flucuating? It could be running lean...maybeDyno tuned?
    Screen (Taco15) could be a problem too. Take the VTEC solenoid out and check it. . Dyno tuned?
     
  7. necessaryevil

    necessaryevil New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Location:
    in da 503
    what map sensor are you using?
     
  8. sean082

    sean082 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    omni 4 bar map. screen is new. changed out vtec sylnd thought that was the issue. it wasn't. screen was clean. AFR's are fine. the low lobe was fully tuned and had zero issues. tuned it all the way through rpm range. Is just vtec. ran car on fully tuned low lobe map and manually engaged vtec, still did it.
     
  9. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    This is a swap or original GSR teggy? Just trying to help but if its a swap....MAYBE its the wiring for VTEC at the ECU? If it was a non-vtec car before and vtec had to be manually wired in...may be a bad connection at the ecu? Or just a continuity issue in general....?

    Solenoid is good.....VTEC oil pressure wiring may be an issue too. And I'm pretty sure there's a tempature aspect of when VTEC kicks in (if car isn't warm enough...no VTEC) So this may be another sensor to look into.
     
  10. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    i had the same issue on my d16z6 vtec wouldnt run right..it was engaging and everything..hope you get it figured out..my suggestions have all been covered
     
  11. sean082

    sean082 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    I dont think it's a wiring issue because i by-passed the ecu when i engaged it manually... It must be mechanical... its a swap into si eg hatch so vtec was already there, i didn't have to add it.
     
  12. sean082

    sean082 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    Maybe pins in the head are missaligned a bit which is not allowing oil pressure to lock them all... i'm not really sure. When i pulled the vlave cover off everything looked good... I'll pull the cams out tonight and see if i see anything obvious, if nothing jumps out at me, i'm going to chage the cams and see if they are creating the issue..
     
  13. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    are you sure the you have the right HG? may the oil plug is clogged up on the block or head. you know the one that id in the center of the block and head.
     
  14. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Pins (dowel pins) purpose is to place the head gasket in the correct place between head and bottom end.
    Can't see that being a big problem for VTEC engagement. I say taking cams out and checking them is a good idea
     
  15. sean082

    sean082 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    Yeah dowel pins were put in lol... i took the cams ouot last night and got it all back together. Didn't get a chance to try vtec but i hope to get it back on the dyno today and see if in fact the cams were causeing the issue. I checked over the head last night when i had the cams out and everything was very clean and nothing seemed out of place. there were no signs of oil deprivation... major scratching/ overheating... hope it gets on dyno today, then we'll see if it was the cams.
     
  16. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    what about the exhaust? do you have a cat or resonator? I remember putting the discs on my supper trapp exhaust to make it shut up.(came with the car) and when i hit vtec the car jolted violently due to restricted air flow.

    mine was built as well with S2S2 so check it out. just hrowing out random easy things to check.
     
  17. sean082

    sean082 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    Exhaust is 3" no cat no res. straight pipe
     
  18. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Just for shits and giggles....
    Are you sure your CEL bulb is good and the light works?

    I don't know specifics but you can bypass the ECU and get VTEC to engage somehow
    to at least lead you a little towards seeing if its mechanical or wiring or the ECU

    Maybe try another ECU?
     
  19. sean082

    sean082 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    yeah i'm sure the cel works. I had one for diz not too long ago, and also i have it set for my shift light... I swaped the cams back to stock yesterday. I didnt get a chance to get it on the dyno to check vtec. My map now has vtec off and a rev limit set a 5k. so we just reved up to 4500 and manually engaged vtec. it didnt seem to go the same crap it was doing. It appears it was the cams. I'll know for sure today after work or tomorrow morning. I'll get it back on the dyno and have the ecu engage vtec under load and see what happens. Thanks for all the input.
     
  20. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Word...hope that was it. Let us know
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page