1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VTec Troubles

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by Help4afriend, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. Help4afriend

    Help4afriend New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Hey guys, im tryin to help out a friend find out why his VTec isnt kickin in...and i dont know much about Hondas or VTec specifics...so heres what we've got so far..

    Its a 2000 Civic Si...throwin codes 15 and 17 (Ignition output signal and speed sensor)

    The Vtec and the speed sensor went out at the exact same time...not sure if this is related or not...

    We thought it was the Vtec solenoid so he bought a used one that was working when it was pulled out...and it still doesnt kick in...the wiring looks ok as far as i can tell..shoulda checked the solenoid before we tried swapping it :eek:

    Also the oil is full and no pressure issues that are obvious...

    So im sure youre all sick of answering Vtec questions...but please help out a newbie! :D

    Any ideas?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    fix the speed sensor vtec only comes on above 20 mph
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2008
  3. Help4afriend

    Help4afriend New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    AAAAHHH!

    Thank you so much...that makes a lot of sense!!

    We'll swap that out and be done with it!

    Thanks again!
     
  4. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    If your speedometer is working, than so is your speed sensor.
     
  5. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    But if its fluctuating, or all over the place (your speedometer), your speed sensor may still be good, the harness clip can easily get corroded down there. Check the wiring and the clip especially. There are, I beleive, 3 wires going into the clip. Make sure its not corroded.

    Speed sensor is about 100 bucks from the dealer. new cluster from the dealer...unsure. But your problem is probably the speed sensor.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page