1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Welded Mounts

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by civicracer901, Jan 2, 2003.

  1. civicracer901

    civicracer901 Senior Member

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Clearwater,FL.
    I dont know anything about motor mounts. I was told that mine were welded. I have a lsvtec in a 88 hatchback. Can I reuse the mounts. I wantted to put it into another 88 hatchback that is alot nicer then mine?
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    If the mounts are removable (however they installed the engine) then you can pull it all out and drop it into another 88 just fine. If they moved some of the mounts in your engine bay, you'll have to do it all over again...
     
  3. civicracer901

    civicracer901 Senior Member

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Clearwater,FL.
    ok iam confused? What do you mean moved the mounts? what iam looking for to see if I can use them again?
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    take a pic dude- it will show yes or no right away
     
  5. civicracer901

    civicracer901 Senior Member

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Clearwater,FL.
    I dont have a digi cam. Iam not really sure what to look for. My top ones don't even look like there welded anywere.
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX

    If they moved the mount points inside the engine bay... if not, you should be able to just pull it all out and reuse the mounts in the other car.
     
  7. civicracer901

    civicracer901 Senior Member

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Clearwater,FL.
    Mount points? sorry to be so retarded about this I dont have freinds. What do you mean moved the mount points, how is that possiable? please :)
     
  8. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yes, moved the mount points. Go look at the brackets that are in your engine bay, which hold the mounts to body- the same mounts which hook up to your engine. Compare it to the other Civic. If the mount points on the chassis (not the engine) are all the same place, you should be ok for transferring your engine to the next car.

    Look at one of my mounts:

    [​IMG]

    The white bracket is the stock mount point on the chassis, the red and black piece is the actual mount, then it's bolted to the engine at its own mount point. If all those brackets match up from your car to the "new" one, then you should be fine with reusing everything you've got right now... at least for mounting the engine into the other car.
     
  9. civicracer901

    civicracer901 Senior Member

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Clearwater,FL.
  10. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page