1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

went to the dyno today

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by wannaberacer, Jul 2, 2005.

  1. wannaberacer

    wannaberacer Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    well I went to the dyno today to tune my haltech ems. fuel was fine and as was timing, but every run made just around 140whp. The motor I have is a jdm b18c1 and I'm really confused. The low speed lobe made perfectly flat torque at 112ft-lbs and when vtec hit it spiked to 125ftlbs and just kept falling on its face so fast that whp was damn near perfectly flat at 140whp. any ideas?!?
    My setup is pretty crude, 2 1/4 exhaust with a 2.5 inch flowmaster muffler(was in the garage from an old v8) and the stock intake boot with a filter for an intake. The motor is a jdm b18c1 that came off a car with an auto trans (maybe cams are different?) and haltech ems thats fairly decently tuned. The dual intake valve opens and vtec does work. It definitely doesn't sound as loud as the b16's opening up vtec so maybe I'm suspecting something is wrong with vtec somewhere. Any ideas anyone?!?
     
  2. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    standalone on a stock motor????
     
  3. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    the cams are different. auto cams suck and effect vtec.

    look at getting some type r ones or stock manual ones
     
  4. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX


    I thought the only 'auto cams' that were different than '5spd cams' were on 1st gen b16a's
     
  5. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    Maybe your motor is fubar? Did you check compression, ignition system, everything up to par? A haltech ems seems overkill for your app., but I guess I'd take it if it were given to me. I'd check out any obvious problems that might be causing your engine to lose power.
     
  6. TWISTEDIMAGE

    TWISTEDIMAGE Senior Member

    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    CASPER WYOMING
    i have heard that the auto cams are diff as well not sure on what motors but pretty sure all dohcs
     
  7. B16CRX

    B16CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    I was under the impression that only B16A had a different manual/auto cam. You should be dynoing right around 150-155 I would think. post up your graph.
     
  8. wannaberacer

    wannaberacer Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    yea thats what I thought too... I'll post asap as soon as I get to a friends home.
     
  9. 2fastaccord

    2fastaccord Senior Member

    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Even if it is a different cam from the auto/man. That number is low. A stock auto cam should not be making 10-15 whp less regardless.
     
  10. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    LS's have different auto/man cams. And they make about a 5 hp difference.

    Haltech is way overkill. I would use haltech on a car that couldn't be chipped or modified. Like my 96 A4. But since you have it, it won't/shouldn't hurt.

    Your numbers are defenitly low. My friends GSR with IHE makes 166 whp or something close to that.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page