1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What car did my motor come from: JDM B16A2

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by confusatron, Aug 28, 2005.

  1. confusatron

    confusatron Senior Member

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Hi, I need to know what throttle cable I need for this swap, because my stock EG Civic throttle cable (DX) does not work. The bracket is four inches or so from where it should be so the throttle cable will not hook up, nor will it wind properly around the throttle wheel even if I frankenstein a bracket onto it. The 97 ITR throttle cable I bought does not work either as it is exactly the same as the one from my Civic.

    If I knew exactly what JDM car this motor came in I think I could probably just order a throttle cable from that car, OR based on what other people on here have said about their throttle cable just bolting right up, maybe from another trim level (CX, VX, Si) EG Civic?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    I know the usdm b16a2 came in 99-00 Civic Si's. If that helps.
     
  3. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003


    the b16a2 ONLY came in the USDM 99-00 Si. JDM engines don't have a number at the end of the engine code.

    Look on the left front side of the engine, directly in front of the distributor cap, there should be an engine designation stamped into the block. Figure out exactly what engine you have.
     
  4. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    in the case that you have jdm b16a that is equivalent to a usdm b16a2, you need the del sol Dohc vtec cable.
    or you can make a single cam vtec cable work.
     
  5. confusatron

    confusatron Senior Member

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago area


    It's the JDM like I said. Even if the harness that came with it wasn't flipped for right hand drive setup, as it was before I removed it, the code stamped onto the front of the motor says B16A, no number after it. Also, the B16A2 that came on the 99-00 Si was OBD2, mine is OBD1, and such only has one 02 sensor located just before the cat. The USDM OBD2 has a second O2 sensor on the exhaust header.
     
  6. confusatron

    confusatron Senior Member

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago area


    Thanks man. How would I make the single cam vtec cable work, btw. Is the cable on the other trim levels (VX, CX, Si) the same as the DX? It would be possible to make the cable work with a custom bracket extension, and it wouldn't be that hard to make, but we are pretty much of the mind that if there is a cable that will fit naturally, we want to use that one and not have to rig anything up. Thanks again.

    Also, that del sol cable, would that be like a 94 or 96? Or does it matter?
     
  7. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    Yeah, just get the one for the Del Sol Vtec...
     
  8. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA

    :werd:
    Just make sure u get it for the dohc vtec and not the single cam vtec del sol.
     
  9. 93civicsir

    93civicsir Senior Member

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    kansas
    del sol vtec, i just did the same swap and it fits perfect. promise and it only cost $23
     
  10. confusatron

    confusatron Senior Member

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago area


    Where'd you buy your cable from? Honda or somewhere else?
     
  11. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    [​IMG]
    we bent it backwards and bolted it on the rail, cost $2.
    propane torch + hammer
     
  12. evoracer03

    evoracer03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003

    :concur:


    damn!! considering ive been telling him to use his stock one for like three days now, maybe hell consider it now that he sees a pic!
     
  13. confusatron

    confusatron Senior Member

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago area
    yeah pics are always the better explanation for those of us lacking in the ghetto creativity chromosome :) I think I'm just gonna opt for the DOHC Del Sol cable though. And, to answer my original question, Honda did make a JDM Civic called SiR-II from 92-95, and that is where my motor came from. I originally had thought that SiR-II was just what they called the motor. Don't ask me why cuz I don't have a good answer. :D
     
  14. jgalaz1

    jgalaz1 Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    You can also use any 94+ integra throttle cable. That's what we use over here in AZ. You can pick up a brand new one from acura for like $19
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page